Skip to main content

Home Film Film News

‘Succession’ and ‘Belfast’ lead the way as Golden Globes 2022 nominees announced

The Golden Globes have announced next year's nominees, despite being mired in controversy over the last year

By Patrick Clarke

A still from 'Belfast'
Belfast (Photo: Northern Ireland Screen)

The full list of nominees for this of nominees for this year’s Golden Globes Awards has been announced, despite the ceremony being mired in controversy.

In February, the Los Angeles Times published a damning report calling into question The Hollywood Foreign Press Association’s ethics and lack of diversity. It prompted a number of major filmmakers, studios and networks to pledge not to work with the organisation unless they implemented substantial changes. NBC has said it won’t broadcast the ceremony as it has in previous years.

The HFPA announced their list of nominations on a livestream today (December 13), with president Helen Hoehne beginning by discussing a number of reforms made by the organisation.

“This has been a year of change and reflection for the HFPA,” she said. “For the past eight months we have worked tirelessly as an organisation to be better. We changed our rules, bylaws, added a new code of conduct and restructured our governance.

“We also have 21 new members, the largest and most diverse in our 79-year-old history. Not only have they brought in a fresh perspective but ideas that will help us continue to evolve.”

The full nominees for The Golden Globe Awards 2022 are as follows:

Best Picture (Drama)
‘King Richard’
‘The Power Of The Dog’

Best Picture (Musical/Comedy)
‘Don’t Look Up’
‘Licorice Pizza’
‘tick, tick… BOOM!’
‘West Side Story’

Best Actress (Motion Picture/Drama)
Jessica Chastain – ‘The Eyes Of Tammy Faye’
Olivia Colman – ‘The Lost Daughter’
Nicole Kidman – ‘Being The Ricardos’
Lady Gaga – ‘House Of Gucci’
Kristen Stewart – ‘Spencer’

Best Actor (Motion Picture/Drama)
Mahershala Ali – ‘Swan Song’
Javier Bardem – ‘Being The Ricardos’
Bendict Cumberbatch – ‘The Power Of The Dog’
Will Smith – ‘King Richard’
Denzel Washington – ‘The Tragedy Of Macbeth’

A still from Maid
Maid (Photo: Netflix)

Best Actress (Musical/Comedy)
Marion Cottilard – ‘Annette’
Alana Haim – ‘Licorice Pizza’
Jennifer Lawrence – ‘Don’t Look Up’
Emma Stone – ‘Cruella’
Rachel Zegler – ‘West Side Story’

Best Actor (Musical/Comedy)
Leonardo DiCaprio – ‘Don’t Look Up’
Peter Dinklage – ‘Cyrano’
Andrew Garfield – ‘tick, tick… BOOM!’
Cooper Hoffman – ‘Licorice Pizza’
Anthony Ramos – ‘In The Heights’

Best Supporting Actress (Motion Picture)
Caitriona Balfe – ‘Belfast’
Ariana DeBose – ‘West Side Story’
Kirsten Dunst – ‘The Power Of The Dog’
Aunjanue Ellis – ‘King Richard’
Ruth Negga – ‘Passing’

Best Supporting Actor (Motion Picture)
Ben Affleck – ‘The Tender Bar’
Jamie Dornan – ‘Belfast’
Ciarán Hinds – ‘Belfast’
Troy Kotsur – ‘CODA’

Best Director (Motion Picture)
Kenneth Branagh – ‘Belfast’
Jane Campion – ‘The Power Of The Dog’
Maggie Gyllenhaal – ‘The Lost Daughter’
Steven Spielberg – ‘West Side Story’
Denis Villenueve – ‘Dune’

Best Screenplay (Motion Picture)
Paul Thomas Anderson – ‘Licorice Pizza’
Kenneth Brannagh – ‘Belfast’
Jane Campion – ‘The Power Of The Dog’
Adam McKay – ‘Don’t Look Up’
Aaron Sorkin – ‘Being The Ricardos’

Best Picture (Animated)
‘My Sunny Maad’
‘Raya And The Last Dragon’

Best Picture (Non-English Language)
‘Compartment No. 6’ (Germany, Russia, Finland)
‘Drive My Car’ (Japan)
‘The Hand Of God’ (Italy)
‘A Hero’ (Iran, France)
‘Parallel Mothers’ (Spain)

Best Score (Motion Picture)
Alexandre Desplat – ‘The French Dispatch’
Germaine Franco – ‘Encanto’
Jonny Greenwood – ‘The Power Of The Dog’
Alberto Iglesias – ‘Parallel Mothers’
Hans Zimmer – ‘Dune’

Best Song (Motion Picture)
‘Be Alive’ (from ‘King Richard’)
‘Dos Oruguitas’ (from ‘Encanto’)
‘Down To Joy’ (from ‘Belfast’)
‘Here I Am (Singing My Way Home)’ (from ‘Respect’)
‘No Time To Die’ (from ‘No Time To Die’)

A still from Licorice Pizza
Licorice Pizza (Photo: MGM Studio)

Best Drama Series
‘The Morning Show’
‘Squid Game’

Best Musical/Comedy Series
‘The Great’
‘Only Murders In The Building’
‘Reservation Dogs’
‘Ted Lasso’

Best Television Motion Picture
‘Impeachment: American Crime Story’
‘Mare Of Easttown’
‘The Underground Railroad’

Best Actress (Television Motion Picture)
Jessica Chastain – ‘Scenes From A Marriage’
Cynthia Erivo – ‘Genius: Aretha’
Elizabeth Olsen – ‘Wandavision’
Margaret Qualley – ‘Maid’
Kate Winslet – ‘Mare Of Easttown’

Best Actor (Television Motion Picture)
Paul Bettany – ‘Wandavision’
Oscar Isaac – ‘Scenes From A Marriage’
Michael Keaton – ‘Dopesick’
Ewan McGregor – ‘Halston’
Tahar Rahim – ‘The Serpent’

Succession (Photo: HBO)

Best Television Actress (Drama Series)
Uzo Aduba – ‘In Treatment’
Jennifer Aniston – ‘The Morning Show’
Christine Baranski – ‘The Good Fight’
Elisabeth Moss – ‘The Handmaid’s Tale’
Michaela Jaé Rodriguez – ‘Pose’

Best Television Actor (Drama Series)
Brian Cox – ‘Succession’
Lee Jung-jae ‘Squid Game’
Billy Porter – ‘Pose’
Jeremy Strong – ‘Succession’
Omar Sy – ‘Lupin’

Best Television Actress (Musical/Comedy Series)
Hannah Einbinder – ‘Hacks’
Elle Fanning – ‘The Great’
Issa Rae – ‘Insecure’
Tracee Ellis Ross – ‘Black-ish’
Jean Smart – ‘Hacks’

Best Television Actor (Musical/Comedy Series)
Anthony Anderson – ‘Black-ish’
Nicholas Hoult – ‘The Great’
Steve Martin – ‘Only Murders In The Building’
Martin Short – ‘Only Murders In The Building’
Jason Sudeikis – ‘Ted Lasso’

Best Supporting Actress – Television
Jennifer Coolidge – ‘The White Lotus’
Kaitlyn Dever – ‘Dopesick’
Andie MacDowell – ‘Maid’
Sarah Snook – ‘Succession’
Hanna Waddingham – ‘Ted Lasso’

Best Supporting Actor – Television
Billy Crudup – ‘The Morning Show’
Kieran Culkin – ‘Succession’
Mark Duplass – ‘The Morning Show’
Brett Goldstein – ‘Ted Lasso’
O Yeong-su – ‘Squid Game’