Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Beth Orton announces new album ‘Weather Alive’ with title track

The singer's seventh album is also her first for Partisan Records

By Will Richards

Beth Orton posing alone on a beach for a press photo
Beth Orton, 2022. (Photo: Eliot Lee Hazel)

Beth Orton has announced details of her seventh studio album – ‘Weather Alive’ is out later this year and being previewed today (May 31) by its title track.

The new record is Orton‘s first for Partisan Records and sees her working with a host of musicians including The Smile and Sons Of Kemet drummer Tom Skinner, The Invisible bassist Tom Herbert and more.

According to a press release, ‘Weather Alive’ was “written on a battered old piano [Orton] saved from Camden Market,” and its seven-minute title track is being shared today to preview the record.

The new album lands on September 23 via Partisan and Orton will tour it around the UK the following month.

Ahead of that run of dates, she will support Alanis Morissette on a European tour that begins next week (June 9).

Listen to the title track from ‘Weather Alive’ and see the new UK headline tour dates below. Pre-order the new album here.

7 – Academy 2, Birmingham
8 – St. Bartholomew’s Church, Brighton
9 – KOKO, London
10 – Arts Centre, Norwich
12 – St George’s, Bristol
13 – Classic Grand, Glasgow
15 – RCMN Concert Hall, Manchester
16 – Brudenell Social Club, Leeds