Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Black Country, New Road share the expansive ‘Bread Song’

It's the second preview of upcoming album 'Ants From Up There'

By Will Richards

Black Country, New Road standing in front of a stage with a red curtain
Black Country, New Road. Credit: Rosie Foster.

Black Country, New Road have shared a second preview of forthcoming new album in the form of ‘Bread Song’.

The seven-piece band returned last month with ‘Chaos Space Marine’, the first taster of their second album ‘Ants From Up There’, due out on February 4 next year via Ninja Tune.

Speaking of new track ‘Bread Song’ in a statement Black Country, New Road vocalist and guitarist Isaac Wood said: “We wanted to do the first chorus with no time signature. I went to see Steve Reich do Music for 18 Musicians and there’s a piece where a bar length is determined by the breadth of the clarinet player, they just play until they run out of breath.

“I wanted to try that with the whole band, where we don’t look at each other, we don’t make too many cues, we just try and play without time – but together.”

Listen to the new track below:

The band, Wood, May Kershaw on keys, drummer Charlie Wayne, guitarist Luke Mark, Lewis Evans on sax, bassist Tyler Hyde and violinist Georgia Ellery, are currently on tour in Europe in support of the album and their 2021 debut ‘For The First Time’.

The UK, EU and US schedule features stops in Paris, Prague, Amsterdam, Dublin, Boston, Brooklyn and San Francisco, with the band then playing more shows in early 2022, including their biggest headline show to date at London’s Roundhouse.

See the band’s full touring schedule below:

29 – Brighton, Chalk
30 – Cambridge, Junction 1

1 – Southampton, The 1865
3 – Liverpool, Arts Club
4 – Leeds, Irish Centre
6 – Manchester, O2 Ritz
7 – Newcastle, University Union
8 – Glasgow, TV Studios
9 – Birmingham, The Mill
10 – Norwich, The Waterfront
12 – Bristol, SWX
13 – Cardiff, Y Plas
15 – Dublin, Whelan’s

8 – London, Roundhouse

APRIL 2022
6 – Sheffield, The Foundry
7 – Oxford, O2 Academy
9 – Edinburgh, Liquid Room
10 – Belfast, The Empire
11 – Dublin, Olympia
13 – Manchester, Albert Hall
14 – Nottingham, Rock City
16 – Brighton, Concorde 2
17 – Bristol, O2 Academy

Last month, the band played an entirely improvised set at the London Climate Music Blowout event, which featured a cover of The Beatles’ ‘Hey Jude’.