Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Everything Everything detail new album ‘Raw Data Feel’, partly written by an AI

The new album is being previewed by first single 'Bad Friday'

By Will Richards

Everything Everything pose for the camera in robot suits
Everything Everything, 2022. (Photo: Press).

Everything Everything have announced details of new album ‘Raw Data Feel’ and shared first single ‘Bad Friday’, which you can hear below.

Alongside frontman Jonathan Higgs, the album was partly written by an A.I. programme he created. According to a press release, Higgs fed the programme certain information, and based the album’s themes, lyrics, artwork and more around the results.

Speaking of ‘Bad Friday’, Higgs said: “This song is about being a victim of violence, explaining it away through the gauze of a ‘crazy night out’. We wanted the video to have a monochrome Ink Spots classicism to it, disrupted by elements of A.I.-generated imagery.

“This reflects the approach to writing and producing the song – the minimalistic combined with the surreal and disorientating.”

Watch Everything Everything‘s ‘Bad Friday’ video below. ‘Raw Data Feel’ will come out on May 20 via Infinity Industries / AWAL and can be pre-ordered here. A new lyric book, ‘CAPS LOCK ON: Lyrics + Debris 2007-2022’, is also available to be pre-ordered here.

Everything Everything will tour ‘Raw Data Feel’ around the UK across 2022, with dates beginning next month. Today (February 8), they’ve announced Do Nothing, Phoebe Green, L’Objectif and Liz Lawrence as support acts.

See the dates below alongside the artwork and tracklist for ‘Raw Data Feel’.

MARCH 2022
31 – Rock City, Nottingham

APRIL 2022
1 – O2 Academy, Leeds
2 – University, Newcastle
4 – SWG3, Glasgow
5 – O2 Academy, Liverpool
7 – Waterfront, Norwich
8 – Academy, Manchester
9 – O2 Academy, Birmingham
11 – O2 Academy, Bristol
12 – Dome, Brighton
13 – Roundhouse, London
14 – Keele University, Stoke
16 – Academy, Dublin

Everything Everything's 'Raw Data Feel' artwork

1. ‘Teletype’
2. ‘I Want A Love Like This’
3. ‘Bad Friday’
4. ‘Pizza Boy’
5. ‘Jennifer’
6. ‘Metroland Is Burning’
7. ‘Leviathan’
8. ‘Shark Week’
9. ‘Cut UP!’
10. ‘HEX’
11. ‘My Computer’
12. ‘Kevin’s Car’
13. ‘Born Under A Meteor’

14. ‘Software Greatman’