Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Galen & Paul announce debut album ‘Can We Do Tomorrow Another Day?’

First single ‘Lonely Town’ is inspired by the desolate chill of an out-of season holiday destination

By Hollie Geraghty

Galen & Paul press shot
Galen & Paul (Picture: Dan Donovan).

Galen & Paul – the brand new project from Paul Simonon and Galen Ayers – have announced their debut album, Can We Do Tomorrow Another Day?.

The new record from Simonon, bassist with The ClashGorillaz and The Good, The Bad and The Queen, and singer-songwriter Ayers, is set to arrive May 19.

The duo have also released their soothing, nostalgic first single ‘Lonely Town’ along with the music video filmed in Majorca – watch it below.

Written by Simonon, the song is about the desolate feeling of an out-of-season holiday destination after tourists have left.

According to a press release, the roots of the album began back in lockdown when Simonon headed to a fishing village in Majorca, spending his time writing songs and painting.

As restrictions lifted, he started working with local musicians and busking in front of cafes, before heading back to London to further develop ideas with Ayers.

“I remember how when I was in The Clash, our manager Bernie Rhodes would tell us that Andrew Loog Oldham locked Mick Jagger and Keith Richards in their kitchen,” Simonon said in a press statement. “He said, ‘I’m not letting you out until you’ve written a song.’ That’s effectively what Galen and I did. We would spend every evening writing yet another song.”

Ayers added: “What I came to realise pretty early on, is that on many occasions we would finish a song but I’d be left with a niggling feeling. I’d say to Paul: ‘I know everybody loves this, but I think it needs something more.’ And he’d say, ‘Me too.’

“And we’d go back to our writing table until we were both satisfied. And that’s why I’m so confident about our collaboration, that I know we have that. So the sky is the limit.”

The album is described in a press release as a “snapshot of pan-European music culture” which sees Ayers singing in English and Spanish, evoking scenes “stretching from Edgware Road to Hydra Island; and painting pictures of everything from elegant Parisian cafes to drunk tourists in Magaluf”.

Find the full Can We Do Tomorrow Another Day? tracklist and artwork below, and pre-order/ pre-save here.

Galen & Paul ‘Can We Do Tomorrow Another Day?’ artwork
Galen & Paul ‘Can We Do Tomorrow Another Day?’ artwork by Paul Simonon (Picture: Press).
  1. ‘Lonely Town’
  2. ‘It’s Another Night’
  3. ‘Hacia Arriba’
  4. ‘Room At The Top’
  5. ‘No Es Necesario’
  6. ‘I’ve Never Had A Good Time… Paris’
  7. ‘The Lighthouse Waltz’
  8. ‘Esmeralda’
  9. ‘Mi Camino’
  10. ‘A Sea Shanty’