Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Gorillaz announce super deluxe 20th anniversary reissue of debut album

'SONG MACHINE LIVE' will also see Gorillaz's project performance screened in cinemas on December 8

By Charlotte Krol

Animated members of Gorillaz pose in a press shot
Gorillaz (Picture: Press).

Gorillaz have shared details of a reissue of their 2001 debut self-titled album alongside news of a ‘SONG MACHINE LIVE’ cinema screening.

The virtual band, headed up in the flesh by Damon Albarn and his artistic collaborator Jamie Hewlett, will release a limited run first edition of the ’20th Anniversary Super Deluxe Vinyl Boxset’ on December 10.

According to a press release, the super deluxe boxset collects “the previously unknown 27-page DMC dossier of leaked documents, memos, faxes and some early Jamie Hewlett drawings (assumed lost in a fire), complete with an 8-disc vinyl set for a very special super deluxe vinyl boxset of the album that started it all”. Fans can pre-oder the first edition here.

It contains more than four hours of music including never-before-released ‘Demoz’, ‘G-Sides’, the Spacemonkez’ 2002 ‘Laika Come Home’ remix album (first time on vinyl), and the never before released ‘Live At The Forum, 2001’. A second edition of the boxset will follow in autumn 2022.

Additionally, Gorillaz‘s ‘SONG MACHINE LIVE’, spawned from the band’s 2020 ‘Song Machine’ web series project and associated ‘Song Machine, Season One: Strange Timez’ album, is coming to cinemas for one day on December 8. The performance features songs from the ‘Song Machine’ project alongside Gorillaz classics.

The film was recorded at the band’s Kong Studios HQ in London in December 2020 and will come to cinemas globally via Trafalgar Releasing. It also features a cinema-exclusive behind-the-scenes featurette ‘Live Inside From Kong’ with unseen interview footage and commentary from Albarn and Hewlett. Tickets go on sale from November 11 here.

Gorillaz drummer Russel Hobbs said: “Whistles have been blown. Truths have come to light. What started out as a trip down memory lane took a damn sideways turn into the heart of darkness. They say the past is another country. Turns out, it’s a whole other dimension.”

Gorillaz (20th Anniversary Super Deluxe Vinyl Boxset) full tracklisting:

‘Gorillaz’ – Disc 1 & 2

  1. ‘Re-Hash’
  2. ‘5/4’
  3. ‘Tomorrow Comes Today’
  4. ‘New Genious (Brother)’
  5. ‘Clint Eastwood’
  6. ‘Man Research (Clapper)’
  7. ‘Punk’
  8. ‘Sound Check (Gravity)’
  9. ‘Double Bass’
  10. ‘Rock The House’
  11. ’19-2000′
  12. ‘Latin Simone (Que Pasa Contigo)’
  13. ‘Starshine’
  14. ‘Slow Country’
  15. ‘M1 A1’
  16. ‘Clint Eastwood’ (Ed Case/ Sweetie Irie Refix)

‘G-Sides’ – Disc 3

  1. ’19-2000′ (Soulchild Remix)
  2. ‘Dracula’
  3. ‘Rock The House’ (Radio Edit)
  4. ‘The Sounder ‘(Edit)
  5. ‘Faust’
  6. ‘Clint Eastwood’ (Phi Life Cypher Version)
  7. ‘Ghost Train’
  8. ‘Hip Albatross’
  9. ‘Left Hand Suzuki Method’
  10. ’12D3′

Laika Come Home’ – Disc 4 & 5

  1. ‘Jungle Fresh’
  2. ‘Strictly Rubbadub’
  3. ‘Bañana Baby’
  4. ‘Monkey Racket’
  5. ‘De-Punked’
  6. ‘P45’
  7. ‘Dub Ø9’
  8. ‘Crooked Dub’
  9. ‘Mutant Genius’
  10. ‘Come Again’
  11. ‘A Fistful Of Peanuts’
  12. ‘Lil’ Dub Chefin’
  13. ‘Strictly Rubbadub’ (Extended)
  14. ‘A Fistful of Peanuts’ (Extended)

‘Live At The Forum, 2001’ – Disc 6 & 7

  1. ‘M1 A1’ (Live)
  2. ‘Tomorrow Comes Today’ (Live)
  3. ‘Slow Country’ (Live)
  4. ‘5/4’ (Live)
  5. ‘Starshine’ (Live)
  6. ‘Man Research’ (Live)
  7. ‘Sound Check’ (Live)
  8. ‘Re-Hash’ (Live)
  9. ‘Clint Eastwood’ (Live)
  10. ‘Rock The House’ (Live)
  11. ‘Dracula’ (Live)
  12. ’19-2000′ (Live)
  13. ‘Punk’ (Live)
  14. ‘5/4’ (Reprise) [Live]
  15. ‘Clint Eastwood’ (Reprise) [Live]

‘Demoz’ – Disc 8

  1. ‘1st Idea’
  2. ‘Shaga Laga’
  3. ‘Genious’
  4. ‘Hand Clapper’
  5. ‘Acoustic 2’

Elsewhere, the band have announced their latest collaboration with vinyl toy brand Superplastic. It’s two limited edition toy drops: ‘The Gorillaz Spacesuit Set’, a series of 12-inch vinyl toys that feature all four members of the band in day-glow moon landing outfits; and an exclusive ‘Gorillaz Mini Blind Box’ series created in celebration of the band’s 20th anniversary.

The toy sets are available to pre-order from November 18.