Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

The Hives announce first new album in 11 years and share first single

'The Death of Randy Fitzsimmons' is out on August 11

By Joe Goggins

The Hives press shot, 2023
The album is the group's first since 2012's 'Lex Hives'. (Photo: Bisse Bengtsson)

The Hives have announced their first album in over a decade, and shared the first single.

The Swedish rock and rollers return on August 11 with The Death of Randy Fitzsimmons, their sixth record and first since 2012’s Lex Hives. The first taste of it has arrived in the form of ‘Bogus Operandi’, the gory, horror-influenced video for which you can see below. It was directed by Aube Perrie, who has also worked with the likes of Harry Styles and Megan Thee Stallion.

On every Hives album so far, every original song has been credited to ‘Randy Fitzsimmons’, who has been described in interviews as an honorary sixth Hive; accordingly, the title of the new record suggests major upheaval for the Swedish five-piece. In a statement, frontman Howlin’ Pelle Almqvist said of the album: “There’s no maturity or anything like that bullshit, because who the fuck wants mature rock’n’roll?

“That’s always where people go wrong, I feel,” he continued. “‘It’s like rock’n’roll but adult,’ nobody wants that! That’s literally taking the good shit out of it. Rock’n’roll can’t grow up, it is a perpetual teenager and this album feels exactly like that, which it’s all down to our excitement – and you can’t fake that shit.”

The record will be the first to feature new bassist The Johan and Only as a full member, as he replaces Dr. Matt Destruction, who left the group in 2013. Patrik Berger handled production duties, potentially hinting at a poppier direction for The Hives, given that his CV boasts work with Robyn, Charli XCX and Lana Del Rey.

Ahead of the album’s August release, The Hives will serve as main support on Arctic Monkeys’ UK stadium tour. See the full dates below, as well as the full track listing for The Death of Randy Fitzsimmons.

The Hives – The Death of Randy Fitzsimmons:

  1. ‘Bogus Operandi’
  2. ‘Trapdoor Solution’
  3. ‘Countdown to Shutdown’
  4. ‘Rigor Mortis Radio’
  5. ‘Stick Up’
  6. ‘Smoke & Mirrors’
  7. ‘Crash Into the Weekend’
  8. ‘Two Kinds of Trouble’
  9. ‘The Way the Story Goes’
  10. ‘The Bomb’
  11. ‘What Did I Ever Do to You?’
  12. ‘Step Out of the Way’

The Hives, May 2023:

27 – Leeds, Live at Leeds

29 – Bristol, Ashton Gate [with Arctic Monkeys]

31 – Coventry, Coventry Building Society Arena [with Arctic Monkeys]

June 2023:

2 – Manchester, Emirates Old Trafford [with Arctic Monkeys]

3 – Manchester, Emirates Old Trafford [with Arctic Monkeys]

5 – Middlesbrough, Riverside Stadium [with Arctic Monkeys]

7 – Norwich, Carrow Road [with Arctic Monkeys]

9 – Sheffield, Hillsborough Park [with Arctic Monkeys]

10 – Sheffield, Hillsborough Park [with Arctic Monkeys]

12 – Swansea, Stadium [with Arctic Monkeys]

14 – Southampton, The Ageas Bowl [with Arctic Monkeys]

16 – London, Emirates Stadium [with Arctic Monkeys]

17 – London, Emirates Stadium [with Arctic Monkeys]

18 – London, Emirates Stadium [with Arctic Monkeys]

25 – Glasgow, Bellahouston Park [with Arctic Monkeys]