Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Kae Tempest shares new single ‘Salt Coast’ – listen

It's the second single from their upcoming fourth studio album, 'The Line Is a Curve'

By Joe Goggins

Kae Tempest press shot, 2022
'The Line Is a Curve' is Tempest's first new album since 2019. (Photo: Wolfgang Tillmans/Press)

Kae Tempest has shared another song from their fourth studio album – you can hear it below.

Songwriter and poet Tempest’s fourth studio album, ‘The Line Is a Curve’, is due out on April 8. Now, ‘Salt Coast’ follows January’s ‘More Pressure’ in giving fans a taste of their first full-length release since 2019’s ‘The Book of Traps and Lessons’.

The track, described by Tempest as a “love song to this complex, devastating, deeply beautiful island”, has them delivering an impassioned spoken word over an atmospheric instrumental. “This song means the world to me,” continued Tempest. “Hope you feel it.”

‘The Line Is a Curve’ will be Tempest’s first release since coming out as non-binary in August 2020. Along with a feature from Kevin Abstract of Brockhampton on ‘More Pressure’, it’s also set to include guest turns by Fontaines D.C., Lianne La Havas, assia and Confucius MC. Long-time collaborator Dan Carey handles production duties. 

“There are collaborators that have come to play session parts that I’ve been playing with since I was 17 years old and with Dan Carey, this is album four,” Tempest explained last month. “We’ve spent the best part of a decade just getting to know each other, and it creates this sense of community. 

“I think that some of my other albums were coming from a place of real isolation and often despair.” they went on. “This album hopefully comes from a place where I’ve made some changes in my life. I’m trying to let go of some of that stuff. So maybe it’s a less lonely listen.”

Tempest will head out on an extensive UK tour later this year in support of ‘The Line Is a Curve’. After playing a trio of U.S. gigs in March, they’ll head home the following month to play shows in Manchester, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Cambridge, Bexhill-on-Sea, Brighton, Belfast, Bristol, Liverpool, Birmingham, Leeds, Hull, Cardiff, Sheffield, Leicester, London and Gateshead.

The full track listing for ‘The Line Is a Curve’ is as follows:

  1. ‘Priority Boredom’
  2. ‘I Saw Light’ [feat. Brian Chatten of Fontaines D.C.]
  3. ‘Nothing to Prove’
  4. ‘No Prizes’ [feat. Lianne La Havas]
  5. ‘Salt Coast’
  6. ‘Don’t You Ever’
  7. ‘These Are the Days’
  8. ‘Smoking’ [feat. Confucius MC]
  9. ‘Water in the Rain’ [feat. assia]
  10. ‘More Pressure’ [feat. Kevin Abstract]
  11. ‘Grace’

Kae Tempest, April 2022:

22 – Manchester, Albert Hall

23 – Edinburgh, Assembly Rooms

24 – Glasgow, SWG3 Galvanizers Yard

26 – Cambridge, Corn Exchange

27 – Bexhill-on-Sea, De La Warr Pavilion

28 – Brighton, Dome

May 2022:

3 – Belfast, Cathedral Quarter Festival

6 – Bristol, Marble Factory

8 – Liverpool, Grand Central Hall

10 – Birmingham, Town Hall

11 – Leeds, Stylus

12 – Hull, Asylum

14 – Cardiff, St. David’s Hall

15 – Sheffield, Octagon

16 – Leicester, O2 Academy

18 – London, O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire

21 – Gateshead, Sage