Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Let’s Eat Grandma announce third album ‘Two Ribbons’ and release title track

The band have returned with their first LP since 2018's 'I'm All Ears'

By Emma Kelly

Let's Eat Grandma
Let's Eat Grandma are back (Credit: El Hardwick)

Let’s Eat Grandma have announced their first album in three years.

The band, made up of Rosa Walton and Jenny Hollingworth, are set to release their third album, ‘Two Ribbons’, via Trangsressive on April 8.

Along with the album announcement, Let’s Eat Grandma have dropped the video for the title track, which is directed by El Hardwick.

Hollingworth said: “‘Two Ribbons’ is a song I wrote to, and about, two of the closest people in my life, and how my relationships with them shifted over time through loss and life changes.

“It touches on the isolating experience of grieving, our powerlessness in the face of death, and the visceral emotions of grief.”

The track follows the September release of ‘Hall of Mirrors’, which was Let’s Eat Grandma’s first song in three years. 

‘Two Ribbons’ tracklist

01. ‘Happy New Year’
02. ‘Levitation’
03. ‘Watching You Go’

04. ‘Hall Of Mirrors’
05. ‘Insect Loop’
06. ‘Half Light’
07. ‘Sunday’
08. ‘In The Cemetery’
09. ‘Strange Conversations’
10. ‘Two Ribbons’

Let's Eat Grandma Two Ribbons album cover
‘Two Ribbons’ is the band’s third album (Credit: El Hardwick)

It’s band’s first LP since the death of Hollingworth’s boyfriend Billy Clayton, who died in April 2019 after battling bone cancer.

Let’s Eat Grandma cancelled their US tour in the wake of Clayon’s passing, but played Coachella in his memory.

Hollingworth said at the time: “There are so many things I feel I have to do, things for Billy but also things for me to help me come to terms with what’s happened to him.

“Despite everything we had been suffering through the last few weeks and months together, Billy wanted me to go and play Coachella and I want to be able to bring him spiritually and musically with me as he was never able to whilst he was with us.”

The Norwich-based band received critical acclaim in 2018 for their second album ‘I’m All Ears’, which followed their 2016 debut ‘I, Gemini’.

Ahead of the release of ‘Two Ribbons’, Let’s Eat Grandma will play two UK headline shows in January 2022.

The ‘Hot Pink’ stars will play the Arts Centre in Norwich on January 26 before performing at London’s XOYO the following night.