Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Nilüfer Yanya announces new album and shares lead single ‘stabilise’

The London artist will release her sophomore album ‘PAINLESS’ on March 4, 2022, following her critically acclaimed 2019 debut ‘Miss Universe’

By Hollie Geraghty

Nilüfer Yanya wears a black leather jacket and laced up top against a green background
Nilüfer Yanya's sophomore album will arrive March 4, 2022. (Photo: Molly Daniel).

Nilüfer Yanya has announced new album ‘PAINLESS’ and shared lead single ‘stabilise’.

The London artist will release her sophomore album on March 4, 2022, following her critically acclaimed 2019 debut ‘Miss Universe’.

New song ‘stabilise’ is a fast-paced track padded with urgent snares and brisk guitars as she examines the mundanity of city living.

There’s nothing out there / For you and me / I’m going nowhere,” she sings. She reflects on the claustrophobic surroundings of high rises buildings and small flats: “Nothing goes above the high rise / Like no one gets back into your life.” 

In the music video by her sister and creative collaborator Molly Daniel, she drives past apartment blocks on a blue sky day and rides her bike through urban neighbourhoods.

Speaking about the concept behind the single and video in a press release, she said: “I was really thinking about your surroundings and how much they influence or change your perception of things. A lot of the city is just grey and concrete, there’s no escape.”

“The video plays on the central theme in the song of no one coming to save you ever. It’s set in the depths of reality in everyday life where we are the only one’s truly capable of salvaging or losing ourselves. Nothing is out there – both a depressing and reassuring statement (depending on how you look at it). Sometimes you have to dress up as a spy or a rock star and just hope for the best.”

Listen to the new single below.

Speaking about the upcoming album that will explore relationship breakdowns, loneliness and soul searching, Yanya said: “It’s a record about emotion.” She continued: “I think it’s more open about that in a way that ‘Miss Universe’ wasn’t because there’s so many cloaks and sleeves with the concept I built around it.” She added that this time she’s “not as scared to admit my feelings”.

Last year Yanya released a three-song EP ‘Feeling Lucky?’ and this year re-released her early EPs on vinyl for the record ‘Inside Out’. The release was a fundraiser for Artists in Transit, a not for profit she founded with sister Molly that offers art workshops to displaced people and communities.

Yanya is set to co-headline a sold out Pitchfork Music Festival London at Hackney Church on November 13 with Moses Boyd and supported by Emma-Jean Thackray and cktrl. 

Find the full ‘PAINLESS’ tracklisting below.

1. the dealer
2. L/R 
3. shameless
4. stabilise 
5. chase me
6. midnight sun 
7. trouble 
8. try 
9. company 
10. belong with you 
11. the mystic 
12. anotherlife