Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Noel Gallagher announces new album ‘Council Skies’ and shares first single

'It’s going back to the beginning,' Gallagher said of his upcoming record

By Nick Reilly

Noel Gallagher 2023 (Picture: Matt Crockett)

Noel Gallagher has announced details of his new album called Council Skies – you can listen to the comeback single Easy Now.

The fourth High Flying Birds record from Gallagher is set to arrive on June 2 via Sour Mash. The follow-up to 2017’s Who Built The Moon, the project is said to see the former Oasis singer taking a look back at his Mancunian origins.

“It’s going back to the beginning. Daydreaming, looking up at the sky and wondering about what life could be … that’s as true to me now as it was in the early ’90s,” Gallagher said of the upcoming album , which was recorded at his own Lone Star Sound studios in London.

Produced by Gallagher alongside long-time collaborator Paul ‘Strangeboy’ Stacey, the album also features performances from Johnny Marr on three tracks, including the recent single ‘Pretty Boy’.

“When I was growing up in poverty and unemployment, music took me out of that. Top Of The Pops on TV transformed your Thursday night into this fantasy world, and that’s what I think music should be. I want my music to be elevating and transforming in some way.”

Meanwhile, lead single ‘Easy Now’ sees Gallagher dealing with psych-infused sounds, while an official video features a lead performance from House Of The Dragon star Milly Alcock.

A deluxe edition of the record also boasts remixes by The Cure’s Robert Smith on ‘Pretty Boy’, Pet Shop Boys on ‘Pretty Boy’. Check out the track-listing in full below.

1. ‘I’m Not Giving Up Tonight’

2. ‘Pretty Boy’
3. ‘Dead To The World’
4. ‘Open The Door, See What You Find’
5. ‘Trying To Find A World That’s Been And Gone’
6. ‘Easy Now’
7. ‘Council Skies’
8. ‘There She Blows!’
9. ‘Love Is A Rich Man’
10. ‘Think Of A Number’
11. ‘We’re Gonna Get There In The End’ (bonus track)

Deluxe album – disc two

1. ‘Don’t Stop…’
2. ‘We’re Gonna Get There In The End’
3. ‘Mind Games’
4. ‘Pretty Boy’ (Instrumental)
5. ‘Dead To The World’ (Instrumental)
6. ‘Council Skies’ (Instrumental)
7. ‘Think Of A Number’ (Instrumental)
8. ‘I’m Not Giving Up Tonight’ (David Holmes Remix)
9. ‘Think Of A Number’ (Pet Shop Boys Magic Eye 12” Remix)
10. ‘Pretty Boy’ (Robert Smith Remix)
11. ‘Council Skies’ (The Reflex Revision)
12. ‘Flying On The Ground’ (Radio 2 Session, 08.09.21)
13. ‘You Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere’ (Radio 2 Session, 08.09.21)
14. ‘Live Forever’ (Radio 2 Session, 08.09.21)