Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Noel Gallagher shares Robert Smith remix of ‘Pretty Boy’

The Cure frontman has delivered a spaced out take on Gallagher's latest

By Nick Reilly

Noel Gallagher press shot, 2023
(Photo: Matt Crockett)

Noel Gallagher has shared a new remix of High Flying Birds’ ‘Pretty Boy’, which has been reworked by none other than The Cure‘s Robert Smith.

The new remix is set to feature on the upcoming deluxe limited-edition of Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds’ new album ‘Council Skies’, which arrives on June 2 via Sour Mash.

“I was surprised and delighted when Noel asked me to remix this gorgeous song, and I had a lot of fun slowing it down and spacing it out,” said Smith of the remix. “Cure drummer Jason Cooper gave me a great vibey drum track to play along with – and the rest just phased into place under the starry sky of my distant moon…”

The deluxe edition of ‘Council Skies’ comes in triple vinyl and 2CD formats, which also boast a Pet Shop Boys remix and a BBC Radio 2 session take on ‘Live Forever’.

Gallagher previously said of Smith’s remix: “‘Pretty Boy’’’ as it was unfolding became reminiscent of the golden age of The Cure. And it was just one of those crazy ideas that one tends to have in the middle of the night, thinking, ‘I wonder if Robert Smith [would] get involved. I wonder if I can get hold of him.

“I asked if he’d get involved and sent him the track and he loved it. He did the remix. And I loved it. I’d never met him before. I’d never conversed with him.”

You can check out the track-listing in full below.

1. ‘I’m Not Giving Up Tonight’

2. ‘Pretty Boy’
3. ‘Dead To The World’
4. ‘Open The Door, See What You Find’
5. ‘Trying To Find A World That’s Been And Gone’
6. ‘Easy Now’
7. ‘Council Skies’
8. ‘There She Blows!’
9. ‘Love Is A Rich Man’
10. ‘Think Of A Number’
11. ‘We’re Gonna Get There In The End’ (bonus track)

Deluxe album – disc two

1. ‘Don’t Stop…’
2. ‘We’re Gonna Get There In The End’
3. ‘Mind Games’
4. ‘Pretty Boy’ (Instrumental)
5. ‘Dead To The World’ (Instrumental)
6. ‘Council Skies’ (Instrumental)
7. ‘Think Of A Number’ (Instrumental)
8. ‘I’m Not Giving Up Tonight’ (David Holmes Remix)
9. ‘Think Of A Number’ (Pet Shop Boys Magic Eye 12” Remix)
10. ‘Pretty Boy’ (Robert Smith Remix)
11. ‘Council Skies’ (The Reflex Revision)
12. ‘Flying On The Ground’ (Radio 2 Session, 08.09.21)
13. ‘You Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere’ (Radio 2 Session, 08.09.21)
14. ‘Live Forever’ (Radio 2 Session, 08.09.21)