Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Nova Twins share new track ‘Cleopatra’ from upcoming album ‘Supernova’

The new track is directly inspired by the pair's experiences of attending Black Lives Matter protests

By Nick Reilly

Nova Twins pose for a press shot
Nova Twins, 2022 (Picture: Press)

Nova Twins have shared new track ‘Cleopatra’, the latest look at their forthcoming album ‘Supernova’.

The record arrives on June 17 via Marshall Music, with the London pair previously releasing the tracks ‘Antagonist’ and recent single ‘K.M.B’ – an acronym of the charged title ‘Kill My Boyfriend’.

Describing their latest track, Nova Twins’ Amy Love explained how it had been directly influenced by the emergence of Black Lives Matter protests in mid-2020.

“‘Cleopatra’ was written off the back of the Black Lives Matter protests. Attending them made us feel powerful as two mixed-race women in an era where people were suddenly waking up to Anti Racists conversations,” she said.

“It’s about celebrating who we are and being proud of where we come from. We hope this song encourages people from all walks of life to act and feel the same way too.”

Speaking about their forthcoming sophomore effort, Amy Love and bassist Georgia South said in a statement: “‘Supernova’ is the beginning of a new era. As we delved into the unknown, making this album became our medicine through a turbulent time.

“It’s a reflection of where we were and how far we have come, encased in a fantasy world that we imagined. ‘Supernova’ is made out of dreams, triumphs and colourful nightmares. When you get to the other side, you will always come out a winner.”

Find the full tracklisting for ‘Supernova’ below.

  1. ‘Power (Intro)’
  2. ‘Antagonist’
  3. ‘Cleopatra’
  4. ‘K.M.B.’
  5. ‘Fire & Ice’
  6. ‘Puzzles’
  7. ‘A Dark Place For Somewhere Beautiful’
  8. ‘Toolbox’
  9. ‘Choose Your Fighter’
  10. ‘Enemy’
  11. ‘Sleep Paralysis’