Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Obongjayar announces debut album ‘Some Nights I Dream Of Doors’

It follows last year's collaborative 'Sweetness' EP with Sarz

By Charlotte Krol

Obongjayar in the music video for 'Try'.
Obongjayar in the music video for 'Try'. (Picture: YouTube/Obongjayar)

Obongjayar has shared details of his debut album ‘Some Nights I Dream Of Doors’ and released a new song from the record called ‘Try’ – listen below.

‘Try’ follows ‘Message In A Hammer’, which was released last October and also features on Obongjayar‘s forthcoming album that drops May 12 via September Recordings (pre-order).

Watch the Spencer Young-directed video for new single ‘Try’ below.

Obongjayar said of ‘Try’: “You can be a pilot or an astronaut, it’s all so possible. By the time you turn twenty, you realise you’re probably not going to become a brain surgeon; reality starts to set in. That’s what the song and this record is about; where do those feelings go? At what point do we lose our innocence, our wide-eyed approach to the world?”

He added of the LP: “This album dives into the idea of opportunity and tries to explore what that means, what lies behind those doors, and asks if we’re ready for it. The pursuit of success, what happens when you achieve it, and what happens if you don’t? What does success mean? The head, the body, and the end of a dream.

“Opportunity is looking forward, and in that lies the question of time. What is your place in it? To know the future, or to fully be aware of your present, you need to analyse and understand your past. It’s an endless loop that continuously piles on itself.”

‘Some Nights I Dream Of Doors’ was recorded across one year with producer Barney Lister. The album also features a collaboration with Nubya Garcia called ‘Wrong For It’.

Obongjayar’s previous collection of songs, ‘Sweetness’, was released as an EP last year with Sarz.

‘Some Nights I Dream Of Doors’ tracklist:

01. ‘Try’
02. ‘Message In A Hammer’
03. ‘Parasite’
04. ‘Some Night I Dream Of Doors’
05. ‘Wrong For It’ (Feat. Nubya Garcia)
06. ‘Sugar’
07. ‘My Life Can Change Today (interlude)’
08. ‘New Man’
09. ‘All The Difference’
10. ‘Tinko Tinko (Don’t Play Me For A Fool)’
11. ‘I Wish It Was Me’
12. ‘Wind Sailor’

Last year, the Nigeria-born, London-based artist collaborated with Little Simz on ‘Point And Kill’, which appeared on the latter’s critically praised fourth album ‘Sometimes I Might Be An Introvert’.