Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Red Hot Chili Peppers announce huge world stadium tour with three UK dates for 2022

UK dates include Manchester, London and Glasgow

By Emma Kelly

Red Hot Chili Peppers
The Red Hot Chili Peppers. (Picture: Clara Balzary)

The Red Hot Chili Peppers have announced a huge global stadium tour for 2022, with three shows in the UK.

The 32-date world tour, which is the band’s first ever stadium tour in the US, marks the return of guitarist John Frusciante to the group, after he returned to the Chilis in 2019 after a 10-year absence. 

RHCP announced the details of their world tour via a spoof video, which saw Anthony Kiedis, Frusciante, Flea and Chad Smith morph into newsreaders in the fictional KHOT newsroom.

The tour kicks off on June 4 in Seville, Spain, before the band play Manchester’s Old Trafford Stadium on June 22 with special guests A$AP Rocky and Thundercat.

A date at the London Stadium on June 25 with special guests Anderson .Paak & The Free Nationals and Thundercat follows, while the Chilis will play Bellahouston Park in Glasgow on July 1 with Anderson .Paak & The Free Nationals and Thundercat.

The ‘Dani California’ stars will also play Dublin on June 29 and have announced dates in Spain, The Netherlands, Hungary, Italy, Belgium, Germany and France as part of the European leg of the tour.

The North American leg kicks off on July 23 in Denver, Colorado with a further 19 dates before the tour ends on September 18 in Dallas, Texas.

Beck, Haim, King Princess, St Vincent and The Strokes will also be joining the band as special guests on various dates.

RHCP said: ‘The Red Hot Chili Peppers have been around, and have not just fallen off the turnip truck, but to a man, they have never been more thrilled, bursting with commitment and purpose, as they are regarding this upcoming tour. They have no interest in resting on past accolades, awards or commercial success, this is a mission, they intend to channel the most mighty spirits, and give everything they’ve got.’

Tickets go on sale at 10am on Friday October 15 to the general public, with fan presale, which can be accessed by pre-ordering the band’s next album, commencing on Wednesday October 13 at 10am. 

Red Hot Chili Peppers 2022 tour dates

  • June 4 – Seville, Estadio La Cartuja De Sevilla
  • June 7 – Barcelona, Estadi Olimpic
  • June 10 – Nijmegen, Goffertpark
  • June 15 – Budapest, Puskas Stadium
  • June 18 – Firenze, Italy – Firenze Rocks
  • June 22 – Manchester, Emirates Old Trafford
  • June 25 – London, UK – London Stadium
  • June 29 – Dublin, Marlay Park
  • July 1 – Glasgow, Bellahouston Park
  • July 3 – Leuven, Rock Werchter
  • July 5 – Cologne, RheinEnergieStadium
  • July 8 – Paris, Stade de France
  • July 12 – Hamburg, Volksparkstadion
  • July 23 – Denver, Empower Field at Mile High
  • July 27 – San Diego, Petco Park
  • July 29 – Santa Clara, Levi’s Stadium
  • July 31 – Los Angeles, SoFi Stadium
  • August 3 – Seattle, T-Mobile Park
  • August 6 – Las Vegas, Allegiant Stadium
  • August 10 – Atlanta, Truist Park
  • August 12 – Nashville, Nissan Stadium
  • August 14 – Detroit, Comerica Park
  • August 17 – East Rutherford, Metlife Stadium
  • August 19 – Chicago, Soldier Field
  • August 21 – Toronto, Rogers Centre
  • August 30 – Miami, Hard Rock Stadium
  • September 1 – Charlotte, Bank of America Stadium
  • September 3 – Philadelphia, Citizens Bank Park
  • September 8 – Washington, Nationals Park
  • September 10 – Boston, Fenway Park
  • September 15 – Orlando, Camping World Stadium
  • September 18 – Arlington, Globe Life Field

The tour will be in support of the Chilis’ as yet untitled 12th studio album, which is set for release next year.

Producer Rick Rubin teased that fans of the band’s 2006 album ‘Stadium Arcadium’ will be fans of the new material, and told Chris Jericho on his podcast ‘Talk Is Jericho’: “We’re finishing their new album right now actually. Frusciante’s back in the band and it’s unbelievable.

“I went to the first rehearsal, that I was invited to after John rejoined the band and it made me cry. It was so thrilling to see that group of people back together because they made such great music for so long together and it really hit me in an emotional way.”

The band’s last album, The Getaway, was released in 2016 and was their last record with guitarist Josh Klinghoffer.