Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Nia Archives announces debut album ‘Silence Is Loud’ and shares title track

The record will land in April via HIJINXX/Island Records.

By Will Richards

Nia Archives
Nia Archives (Picture: Lola Banet)

Nia Archives has announced details of her debut album, Silence Is Loud, and shared its title track.

The jungle producer will share her first full-length project on April 12 via HIJINXX/Island Records, following her EPs Headz Gone WestForbidden Feelingz and Sunrise Bang Ur Head Against Tha Wall.

The album was first teased last month with the release of the track ‘Crowded Roomz’, and the title track is a more indie-focused effort.

Discussing the album, which sees her working with Ethan P. Flynn (David Byrne, FKA twigs), Nia said she wanted the record to be “more song-focussed, putting interesting sounds on jungle”.

Listen to the title track and see the tracklist for Silence Is Loud below.

Silence Is Loud:

1. ‘Silence Is Loud’
2. ‘Cards On The Table’
3. ‘Unfinished Business’
4. ‘Crowded Roomz’
5. ‘Forbidden Feelingz’
6. ‘Blind Devotion’
7. ‘Tell Me What It’s Like?’
8. ‘Nightmares’
9. ‘F.A.M.I.L.Y’
10. ‘Out Of Options’
11. ‘Silence Is Loud (Reprise)’
12. ‘Killjoy !’
13. ‘So Tell Me…’

Speaking to Rolling Stone UK in 2022, Nia Archives said of her sound: “I’ve always done the opposite of what’s expected of me. Music is a compulsion for me, but I’m always going to do what makes me happy, and make what I want to hear, whether that’s a samba tune or an indie jungle track. If I can listen to it 100 times and still love it, then maybe other people will too — as long as it’s something I genuinely love. I’m still taking inspiration from all over the place; I can hear something on YouTube and get an idea and it all spirals from there, but I love old-school rave tapes too.”