Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Alice Glass announces debut album ‘PREY//IV’ – listen to new single ‘Baby Teeth’ now

The former Crystal Castles singer's record arrives on January 28

By Joe Goggins

Alice Glass, 2021
Alice Glass, 2021. (Photo: Kristen Jan Wong and Lucas David)

Alice Glass has announced details of her long-awaited debut album.

The former Crystal Castles singer will release ‘PREY//IV’ through her own label, Eating Glass Records, on January 28th, 2022.

The thirteen-track effort will be Glass’ first as a solo artist, having teased the release way back in January with the beat-heavy ‘Suffer and Swallow’, which came complete with a typically spooky music video.

A new single, ‘Baby Teeth’, accompanies the announcement, and softens the edges of the discordant electro of her old band with club-ready synths and honeyed vocals. You can hear it below.

In a statement, Glass said of the track: “I like to make songs that you can dance to when you’re sad. Baby Teeth is probably the darkest and most hopeless track on my record, but it sounds misleadingly hopeful.”

“This is human nature, and it hurts too much to think about. And sometimes, the only power it feels like we have left is to say, ‘Hey, you can’t hurt me, because I’m hurting myself first. I’ve beat you to it.’ It’s bleak, but this is a reality many of us struggle with. It isn’t fair. It never will be.’”

The album will follow Glass’ 2017 self-titled EP, as well as a slew of standalone singles, including ‘Nightmares’, ‘Cease and Desist’ and ‘Mine’.

Glass left Crystal Castles in 2014, accusing bandmate Ethan Kath of physical, emotional and sexual abuse in the process. Kath responded with a defamation lawsuit, which was dismissed.

The track listing for ‘’PREY//IV’ is as follows:

1. ‘Prey’

2. ‘Pinned Beneath Limbs’

3. ‘Love Is Violence’

4. ‘Baby Teeth’

5. ‘Everybody Else’

6. ‘The Hunted’

7. ‘Fair Game’

8. ‘Witch Hunt’

9. ‘Suffer and Swallow’

10. ‘Suffer In Peace’

11. ‘Animosity’

12. ‘I Trusted You’

13. ‘Sorrow Ends’