Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Bastille share ‘Revolution’, from ‘Give Me the Future’ deluxe edition

The new edition, titled ‘Give Me the Future + Dreams of the Past’, features new songs, covers, reworked tracks and more

By Will Richards

Bastille (Picture: Press)

Bastille have announced a deluxe edition of their 2022 album Give Me the Future and shared its first single, ‘Revolution’.

The band released their new album back in February, and it went on to become their third number one album, following on from their 2013 debut Bad Blood and its 2016 follow-up, Wild World.

Titled Give Me the Future + Dreams of the Past, the deluxe edition is a three-disc collection that features brand new songs, covers, remixes, and more.

Speaking of the new record, frontman Dan Smith said in a statement: “In releasing this version of the record, we wanted to give the complete picture of what we intended with this album and also explore the idea that you can choose your own adventure.

“You can dive into the ideas of the future and an electronic world, or you can fall back into the past – away from technology and into ideas of memory and nostalgia – both thematically and musically. Or you can choose full-on dancefloor heartbreak escape.”

Speaking to Rolling Stone UK about the new album last year, Smith said that Give Me the Future concerns “different meditations on the future and what that could mean.”

He added: “When it comes to our relationship with technology, we’re in absolutely no position to preach, or judge, or make any kind of comment. We’re as addicted to our phones as everyone, and we live in the city, so it’s not like we’re living on a homestead and not engaging with tech.”

Listen to ‘Revolution’ and see the tracklist for Give Me the Future + Dreams of the Past below.

Part One — Give Me the Future

1. ‘Distorted Light Beam’
2. ‘Thelma + Louise’
3. ‘No Bad Days’
4. ‘Brave New World (Interlude)’
5. ‘Back to the Future’
6. ‘Plug In…’
7. ‘Promises (by Riz Ahmed)’
8. ‘Shut Off the Lights’
9. ‘Stay Awake?’
10. ‘Give Me the Future’
11. ‘Club 57’
12. ‘Total Dissociation (Interlude)’
13. ‘Future Holds [feat. BIM]’

Part Two — Dreams of the Past

1. ‘Back To The Innerverse (Interlude)’
2. ‘Real Life’
3. ‘Family Ties’
4. ‘Distorted Light Beam (Reprise)’
5. ‘Revolution’
6. ‘survivin’’
7. ‘No More Bad Days’
8. ‘Hope For The Future’

Part Three — Other People’s Heart Ache

1. ‘Other People’s Heartache (Interlude)’
2. ‘Run Into Trouble’ [Alok x Bastille]
3. ‘Remind Me’
4. ‘Eight Hours’ [Bastille x Tyde]
5. ‘Dancing In The Dark’
6. ‘Running Away’