Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Big Thief announce new double album ‘Dragon New Warm Mountain I Believe In You’

The announcement comes with new track ‘Time Escaping’, with the album due to be released February 11

By Hollie Geraghty

The members of Big Thief pose for a laid-back photo
Big Thief will release their new 20-track album ‘Dragon New Warm Mountain I Believe In You’ in February. (Photo: Josh Goleman/Press).

Big Thief have announced a new 20-track double album ‘Dragon New Warm Mountain I Believe In You’, due to be released February 11, 2022 via 4AD.

The band has previewed their fifth record with new single ‘Time Escaping’, while other recent tracks ‘Little Things, ‘Sparrow’, ‘Certainty’ and ‘Change’ will all feature on the album also.

News of the new LP was shared in an interview with Mojo Magazine in October (via Stereogum), with lead singer Adrianne Lenker revealing they had accumulated about 50 songs, whittling them down to 20.

Speaking about the new album in a press release, Lenker said: “One of the things that bonds us together as a band is pure magic.

“I think we all have the same guide and none of us have ever spoken what it is because we couldn’t name it, but somehow, we are all going for the same thing, and when we hit it… we all know it’s it, but none of us to this day, or maybe ever, will be able to articulate in words what the ‘it’ is. Something about it is magic to me.”

The album can be pre-ordered here.

Find the ‘Dragon New Warm Mountain I Believe In You’ tracklisting below.

1. ‘Change’
2. ‘Time Escaping’
3. ‘Spud Infinity’
4. ‘Certainty’
5. ‘Dragon New Warm Mountain I Believe in You’
6. ‘Sparrow’
7. ‘Little Things’
8. ‘Heavy Bend’
9. ‘Flower of Blood’
10. ‘Blurred View’
11. ‘Red Moon’
12. ‘Dried Roses’
13. ‘No Reason’
14. ‘Wake Me up to Drive’
15. ‘Promise Is a Pendulum’
16. ‘12,000 Lines’
17. ‘Simulation Swarm’
18. ‘Love Love Love’
19. ‘The Only Place’
20. ‘Blue Lightning’

Big Thief are also set to embark on a UK and European tour in January 2022 which will include three nights at London’s O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire between March 2-4.

Check out the full tour schedule below.


31 – Aeronef, Lille, France


1 – La Cigale, Paris, France
4 – Rock School Barbey, Bordeaux, France
5 – Sala Apolo, Barcelona, Spain
7 – Le Transbordeur, Lyon, France
8 – La Laiterie, Strasbourg, France
9 – Kaufleuten, Zurich, Switzerland
10 – Muffathalle, Munich, Germany
12 – MeetFactory, Prague, Czech Republic
13 – Huxleys, Berlin, Germany
15 – VEGA, Copenhagen, Denmark
16 – Fabrik, Hamburg, Germany
18 – Live Music Hall, Cologne, Germany
19 – Cirque Royal, Brussels, Belgium
21 – Ronda, Utrecht, Netherlands
22 – De Oosterpoort, Groningen, Netherlands
24 – Manchester Academy 1, Manchester
25 – Barrowland, Glasgow
26 – National Stadium, Dublin
27 – O2 Academy Bristol, Bristol

MARCH 2022

2 – O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire, London
3 – O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire, London
4 – O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire, London