Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

First Aid Kit detail fifth album ‘Palomino’ and announce UK tour

The upcoming record – written as "an escape from all the horrible things going on in the world" – has been previewed by a new single, 'Out of My Head'

By Tom Skinner

First Aid Kit 2022 press image
First Aid Kit. CREDIT: Olof Grind

First Aid Kit have announced their fifth studio album Palomino, as well as a UK headline tour for 2022.

The Swedish sister duo – aka Klara and Johanna Söderberg – will release the follow-up to 2018’s Ruins on November 4 via Columbia. You can pre-order/pre-save it here. In June, the band released their first new music in three years with the single ‘Angel’.

Upon detailing their next studio effort, First Aid Kit shared another track called ‘Out of My Head’ on Friday (August 12).

“We wrote this song last year together with songwriter and producer Björn Yttling,” the group explained in a statement.

“It was the first time we wrote for First Aid Kit with someone else and it was very inspiring. The song was written in the spur of the moment, almost like a stream of consciousness. It’s about feeling stuck inside your own thoughts and desperately wanting to escape.”

They continued: “We produced the song with Daniel Bengtson in Stockholm. It has a bit of a different sound from our previous songs. We wanted the production to feel like an old rock song from the 80s. We were inspired by Fleetwood Mac, Kate Bush and Tom Petty.

“This is one of our favourite songs we’ve ever written, we’re so proud of it and are so excited to finally get to share it.” You can watch the official music video for ‘Out of My Head’ above.

The forthcoming Palomino will also include the songs ‘Ready to Run’, ‘Wild Horses II’, ‘Nobody Knows’ and ‘A Feeling That Never Came’ – check out the full tracklist below.

  1. ‘Out of My Head’
  2. ‘Angel’
  3. ‘Ready to Run’
  4. ‘Turning Onto You’
  5. ‘Fallen Snow’
  6. ‘Wild Horses II’
  7. ‘The Last One’
  8. ‘Nobody Knows’
  9. ‘A Feeling That Never Came’
  10. ’29 Palms Highway’
  11. ‘Palomino’

The full-length project marks the duo’s first album to be recorded in Sweden since their 2010 debut, The Big Black and the Blue.

“We worked with Swedish producer Daniel Bengtson at his lovely studio Studio Rymden in Stockholm,” First Aid Kit said. “It was such a fun experience. We really let the recording take time, we didn’t want to rush it.

“The songs were mostly written during the pandemic. In such dark times, music felt like an escape from all the horrible things going on in the world. We wanted this album to feel more upbeat and cheerful than our previous album Ruins, which was a break-up record. It’s probably our most pop sounding record yet.”

The band revealed that they’d been inspired by older artists “from all over the place”, citing acts such as Carole King, T Rex and Elton John, as well as newer talent including Angel Olsen, Whitney and Big Thief.

“The title is a reference to freedom, learning how to stand on your own two feet. Growing older and feeling more comfortable in your own skin. Riding off on a Palomino!” they added

First Aid Kit are scheduled to showcase their new album on a UK headline tour in November and December. You can find ticket information here, and see the full itinerary beneath.

November 2022
28 – Glasgow, O2 Academy
30 – Manchester, O2 Apollo

December 2022
2 – Cambridge, Corn Exchange
3 – Birmingham, O2 Academy
5 – Liverpool, Eventim Olympia
6 – Cardiff, Motorpoint Arena
8 – London, Eventim Apollo

First Aid Kit are currently out on a North American tour, and will perform in Chicago, Illinois tonight (August 15). They’ll play further gigs in Detroit, Toronto, New York, Harrisburg and Columbia.