Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Gabriels announce two-part debut album, ‘Angels & Queens’

The first instalment arrives this month

By Joe Goggins

Gabriels (Picture: Press)

Gabriels have announced details of their debut album, to be released in two parts.

The Los Angeles soul trio will drop the first instalment of Angels & Queens before the month is out, with a September 30 release confirmed via Atlas Artists and Parlophone Records.

The second half will follow in March 2023, on a date yet to be specified. The band’s fellow Compton native, the Grammy-winning Sounwave, handles production duties, bringing with him to the studio an impressive pedigree, having worked with Kendrick Lamar and Beyoncé in the past.

It marks the culmination of a meteoric 2022 rise for the three-piece; they’re defined by the hugely powerful vocals of Jacob Lusk, who’s backed by producer-composer Ari Balouzian and Sunderland-born producer and keyboardist Ryan Hope.

Speaking about Angels & Queens and elaborating on its two-part release, Gabriels said in a statement: “Our debut album is a unique exploration of love and loss from each of our differing perspectives. We were planning to release our album next year, but got the opportunity to collaborate with some of the most amazing people who initially were strangers, but within weeks became family in the most mind-blowing process.”

“As the first part of the album was recorded, we knew we wanted to share it with you as soon as possible,” they continued. “We couldn’t be more excited to announce that Angels & Queens – Part 1 is coming this September, and Part II will follow in March. THANK YOU Sounwave and Beach Noise.”

Beach Noise are a Los Angeles production trio who have also worked with Lamar, although the extent of their involvement with Angels & Queens remains unclear. For his part, Sounwave added: “I was instantly drawn in from the raw emotions and how limitless their range was. For this project we wanted to push the boundaries sonically that matched the intense and vulnerable feelings of each song.”

You can see the full track listing for Angels & Queens – Part 1 below, along with three new UK tour dates set for October.

Gabriels – Angels & Queens – Part I

1. ‘Angels & Queens’
2. ‘Taboo’
3. ‘Remember Me’
4. ‘If You Only Knew’
5. ‘To the Moon and Back’
6. ‘The Blind’
7. ‘Mama’

Gabriels, October 2022:

21 – Glasgow, SWG3 TV Studio

23 – Manchester, New Century Hall

25 – London, HERE at Outernet