Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

IDLES announce fourth album ‘CRAWLER’ and new single

It's set for release in November

Joe Talbot (vocals), Mark Bowen (guitar), Lee Kiernan (guitar), Adam Devonshire (bass) and Jon Beavis (drums) of the band IDLES
IDLES (Picture: Tom Ham)

IDLES are back with their fourth album in four years, ‘CRAWLER’, as well as sharing new single ‘The Beachland Ballroom’.

Set for release on November 12, the record marks the band’s follow-up to 2020’s ‘Ultra Mono’, which went straight to the top of the UK album charts.

The Bristol punks previously teased the record when they wiped all their social media posts, apart from a single graphic that read: “In spite of it all, life is beautiful”.

That first single, meanwhile, sees frontman Joe Talbot taking a left-turn with melodic vocals, which eventually make way for heavier sounds.

Watch the video below.

Joe said of the new single: “It’s the most important song on the album, really. There’s so many bands that go through the small rooms and dream of making it into the big rooms.”

He continued: “Being able to write a soul tune like this made me go, f*** — we’re at a place where we’re actually allowed to go to these big rooms and be creative and not just go through the motions and really appreciate what we’ve got. The song is sort of an allegory of feeling lost and getting through it. It’s one that I really love singing.”

Guitarist Mark Bowen added: “I didn’t know Joe could sing like that. He’s been trying to write ‘Be My Baby’ since the very beginning, but he didn’t want to be the punk guy wearing the Motown clothes. He wanted it to feel natural, and this song is.”

The album will be released on Partisan Records, and was recorded at the famed Real World Studios in Bath throughout the pandemic. ‘CRAWLER’ was co-produced by Kenny Beats, who has worked with the likes of Vince Staples, Slowthai, and Freddie Gibbs.

The news of ‘CRAWLER’ comes after the announcement that IDLES will be headlining 2000trees in 2022.

See the tracklisting for ‘CRAWLER’ below.

  1. ‘MTT 420 RR’
  2. ‘The Wheel’
  3. ‘When the Lights Come On’
  4. ‘Car Crash’
  5. ‘The New Sensation’
  6. ‘Stockholm Syndrome’
  7. ‘The Beachland Ballroom’
  8. ‘Crawl!’
  9. ‘Meds’
  10. ‘Kelechi’
  11. ‘Progress’
  12. ‘Wizz’
  13. ‘King Snake’
  14. ‘The End’