Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

The Killers share new live film, ‘Notes from a Quiet Town’

The documentary arrives ahead of Friday's (March 25) deluxe edition of 'Pressure Machine'

By Joe Goggins

The Killers press shot, 2022
The deluxe edtion of 'Pressure Machine' will preface The Killers' UK tour. (Photo: Press)

The Killers have shared a new live film, ahead of the deluxe re-release of their seventh studio album, ‘Pressure Machine’.

‘Notes from a Quiet Town’ runs at 33 minutes, and intertwines behind-the-scenes footage with live recordings. It is now on YouTube – you can see it below. The expanded version of ‘Pressure Machine’ is awash with previously unheard demos, including two early versions of album opener ‘West Hills’.

Elsewhere, there’s a fresh, acoustic take on the Las Vegas indie rockers’ duet with Phoebe Bridgers, ‘Runaway Horses’, while the record’s closing track – ‘The Art of Getting By’ – is reimagined four ways, with each new cut bringing a distinctive feature of the Killers sound to the forefront.

The release prefaces the band’s long-delayed stadium tour of the UK. The Killers will spend most of this year on the road, but drummer Ronnie Vannucci Jr. has divulged that work on an eighth studio album is already underway. “I’m just supposing here, but I think the whole COVID thing made people realise how good they have it,” said the sticksman, speaking to NME last August.

“There have been some really kind remarks that I’ve never heard from the guys before that made saying, ‘Hey, I don’t want to not be on a record any more – so let’s do this,’ he continued. “We’re very sobered up from the experience of being locked away. I do think that all four of us are going to be on this next record. We’ve already started messing around a bit, so that’s good.”

Vannucci Jr.’s remarks suggest that the next Killers record might be the first since 2017’s ‘Wonderful Wonderful’ to have all four original members on the album. Guitarist Dave Keunig had previously sat out recording sessions in order to pursue other musical avenues, whilst bassist Mark Stoermer was not involved in recording sessions for ‘Pressure Machine’ owing to COVID-19 concerns.

The Killers return to the UK in May. You can see their full dates below.

The Killers, May 2022:

24 – Doncaster, Keepmoat Stadium

26 – Bristol, Ashton Gate

28 – Coventry, Coventry Building Society Arena

30 – Southampton, St. Mary’s Stadium

June 2022:

1 – Middlesbrough, Riverside Stadium

3 – London, Emirates Stadium

4 – London, Emirates Stadium

6 – Falkirk, Falkirk Stadium

7 – Falkirk, Falkirk Stadium

9 – Norwich – Carrow Road

11 – Manchester, Emirates Old Trafford