Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Kylie previews 16th studio album with new single ‘Padam Padam’

The video for the track was shot in Los Angeles

By Joe Goggins

Kylie Minogue press shot for 'Padam Padam', 2023
'Tension' is out on September 22. (Photo: Erik Melvin)

Kylie Minogue has teased her new studio album with the first single, ‘Padam Padam’ – you can see the video below.

The pop legend had previously announced that she will release Tension on September 22, and has now dropped the first taste of the record in the shape of the sunny new single, which features an earworm of a chorus over a huge electronic beat. It was produced by Lostboy, known for his work with the likes of Tiësto and Anne-Marie, and will be the opening song on Tension, for which you can see the full track listing below.

The accompanying video was shot on location in Los Angeles, with acclaimed director Sophie Muller behind the camera. In it, Minogue wears a custom-made Mugler catsuit. Tension will be her first album since 2020’s Disco and looks set to continue in the same musical vein, with a press release describing the new album as “a record of pleasure-seeking, empowered dance floor bangers and sultry pop cuts.”

Seven of the eleven tracks on the standard version of thee album were co-written with long-time collaborators Biff Stannard and Duck Blackwell; Minogue has worked with seven different producers in total on Tension.

Discussing the record last week (May 12), when it was announced, Minogue said: “I started this album with an open mind and a blank page. Unlike my last two albums there wasn’t a ‘theme’, it was about finding the heart or the fun or the fantasy of that moment and always trying to service the song. I wanted to celebrate each song’s individuality and to dive into that freedom. I would say it’s a blend of personal reflection, club abandon and melancholic high.” 

“I loved being back in the studio with my collaborators,” she went on,” but was also able to benefit from remote recording, which we have all got used to – my mobile studio never left my side for a year and a half! The album is a mix of songs I have written and songs which really spoke to me.”

Kylie Minogue – Tension:

  1. ‘Padam Padam’
  2. ‘Hold On to Now’
  3. ‘Things We Do for Love’
  4. ‘Tension’
  5. ‘One More Time’
  6. ‘You Still Get Me High’
  7. ‘Hands’
  8. ‘Green Light’
  9. ‘Vegas High’
  10. ’10 Out of 10’ [with Oliver Heldens]
  11. ‘Story’

Deluxe edition bonus tracks:

12. ‘Love Train’
13. ‘Just Imagine’
14. ‘Somebody to Love’