Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Loyle Carner announces new album ‘Hugo’

The anticipated third record from the MC arrives in October

By Nick Reilly

Loyle Carner (Picture: Sirus Gahan)
Loyle Carner (Picture: Sirus Gahan)

Loyle Carner has announced full details of Hugo, the anticipated third record from the London rapper.

The record, which marks the follow-up to 2019’s ‘Not Waving, But Drowning’, arrives on October 21 via EMI, and follows on from the recent comeback singles ‘Georgetown’ and ‘Hate‘.

According to an official release, it sees the musician deliver “his most cathartic and ambitious record yet, a coruscating journey into the heart of what it means to be alive in these tumultuous times.”

You can check out the record’s tracklisting in full below.

  1. ‘Hate’
  2. ‘Nobody Knows (Ladas Road)’
  3. ‘Georgetown (feat. John Agard)’
  4. ‘Speed Of Plight’
  5. ‘Homerton (feat. JNR Williams & Olivia Dean)’
  6. ‘Blood On My Nikes (feat. Wesley Joseph & Athian Akec)’
  7. ‘Plastic’
  8. ‘A Lasting Place’
  9. ‘Pollyfilla’
  10. ‘HGU’

While the full record is yet to arrive, recent track ‘Georgetown’ saw him sampling a performance by the Guyanese poet John Agard of his acclaimed poem Half-caste.

John Agard’s poem Half-caste had a heavy impact on me,” Carner explained about its significance. “To see someone who was older, that looked like me, sharing a reflection of a similar lived experience made me feel comfortable/proud to not fit in. It kinda gave me the permission to finally write explicitly about being mixed.

“There’s so much beauty in the gaps in-between, and in some ways this song touches on that. For me, it’s about finding this inner confidence through understanding of self, and spending time back home. It is a representation of finally feeling like one whole person instead of two halves.”

‘Hate’, meanwhile, saw Carner create “one of the few songs made from a hateful place. I was angry at the world, frightened and overwhelmed. It’s unfiltered. Really just a stream of consciousness that builds to an understanding that hate is rooted in fear.”