Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Pet Shop Boys announce new album ‘Nonetheless’

The pop icons return in April.

By Nick Reilly

Pet Shop Boys (Picture: Alasdair McLellan)

Pet Shop Boys have announced their new album Nonetheless, as well as sharing the lead single ‘Loneliness’. You can listen to it in full below.

The latest album from Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe arrives on April 26 and sees the duo teaming up with producer James Ford – known for his work with the likes of Arctic Monkeys and the upcoming debut album from The Last Dinner Party – for the first time.

“We wanted this album to be a celebration of the unique and diverse emotions that make us human,” the duo said. “From the more dance-orientated tracks to the raw poignancy of the introspective ballads, with their beautiful string arrangements, each track tells a story and contributes to the overall narrative of the album.”

“We’re very excited to release this new album. Its 10 tracks are the strongest indicators of where we are today. Like much of our music it’s very reflective. It was great to work with James Ford, who we think has brought new elements to our music.

“Our demos are sometimes quite complicated, and James has dared to make us a bit more minimal at times – but also, the string arrangements are very beautiful. Some of the record is quite heart-breaking, but we hope a lot of it is also uplifting. It’s a record we’re very proud of.”

You can watch the video for ‘Loneliness’ below.

‘Nonetheless’ tracklist:

1. ‘Loneliness’
2. ‘Feel’
3. ‘Why Am I Dancing?’
4. ‘New London Boy’
5. ‘Dancing Star’
6. ‘A New Bohemia’
7. ‘The Schlager Hit Parade’
8. ‘The Secret Of Happiness’
9. ‘Bullet For Narcissus’
10. ‘Love Is The Law’

As well as the album, the group will play five shows at London’s Royal Albert Hall in July. Check those out in full below.

JULY 2024
23 – London, Royal Opera House
24 – London, Royal Opera House
25 – London, Royal Opera House
26 – London, Royal Opera House
27 – London, Royal Opera House