Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Phoebe Green announces debut album ‘Lucky Me’ and shares title track

The Manchester musician will head out on her first UK and Ireland headline tour later this year

By Tom Skinner

Phoebe Green 2022 close-up press show
Phoebe Green. Credit: Lewis Vorn

Phoebe Green has announced her debut album ‘Lucky Me’ – you can listen to its title track below, and find details of her first UK and Ireland headline tour.

The rising Manchester singer-songwriter will release the full-length project on August 19 via Chess Club Records. Pre-order/pre-save here.

Premiering on BBC Radio 1 last night (May 10), the ‘Lucky Me’ single is accompanied by an official Piers Dennis-directed video. 

“‘Lucky Me’ explores the idea of disguising self-destructive behavioural patterns due to a feeling of guilt for living a seemingly easy life,” Green explained in a statement.

“I’m very lucky in so many ways that I almost feel ungrateful for still experiencing such difficulties with my mental state. I frantically search for a trivial, tangible cause of distress so that I don’t have to dig too deep or accept that I might just be a bit mentally fucked, then altogether silence myself when I imagine how others may be perceiving me and my actions.

“The song represents the common defence mechanism of invalidating and dismissing my emotions before anyone else can.”

Green continued: “I wanted ‘Lucky Me’ to be the title track of the album as this is very much a running theme throughout; analysing and dissecting my experiences and emotions as opposed to feeling them, as they feel easier to digest that way.

“The title almost feels sarcastic and snarky depending on which way you look at it, and as I use humour to cope a lot of the time it does seem fitting. But I am actually extremely lucky to still be here so there is some sincerity in there somewhere.”

As for the track’s visuals, the musician said: “Filming the video was one of the most exciting things I think I’ve ever done. Piers is an absolute dream to work with; our visions for the song and the way it was to be represented visually were so aligned, it evoked the same feelings and mental imagery in both of us which was so validating for me, as the song can be a bit tricky for me to explain.

“It was so cathartic to explore two sides of myself in the video – the jaw-clenched, guarded persona strapped to the wheel versus the snarling, teasing knife thrower. I’m so pleased with how it’s turned out, it portrays the sentiment of the song perfectly.”

Green’s latest single follows on from ‘Make It Easy’, which came out back in March. Other songs set to feature on her forthcoming album include ‘Break My Heart’, ‘Crying In The Club’, ‘Won’t Sit Still’ and ‘I Wish You Never Saw Me Cry’.

You can see the full tracklist and cover art for ‘Lucky Me’ below.

1. ‘Break My Heart’
2. ‘Lucky Me’
3. ‘Make it Easy’
4. ‘Crying In The Club’
5. ‘Sweat’
6. ‘Clean’
7. ‘Just A Game’
8. ‘One You Want’
9. ‘Won’t Sit Still’
10. ‘DieDieDie’
11. ‘I Wish You Never Saw Me Cry’
12. ‘Leach’
13. ‘I Don’t Wanna Make You Cold

Phoebe Green – ‘Lucky Me’ official album cover artwork. CREDIT: Press

Per a press release, the “13-act” LP sees Green “confront her reflection, holding the mirror up to her face so closely she can see her breath on it”, while “extract[ing] explanations for her own behaviours, contradictions and complexities – but through this process of knowing herself, she arrives at a place of peace and self-forgiveness”.

“It’s about feeling guilty for being so mentally unstable when you’re extremely privileged in so many ways,” the musician said of the project.

“I’ve been so lucky in terms of my upbringing and early life that I’ve felt almost uneasy and guilty about it, because from a young age I believed that success was only earned through suffering. It’s frustrating because despite circumstantial privilege, I’m still fucking traumatised and I find it sort of humiliating.”

Phoebe Green will showcase the album at her debut UK and Ireland headline tour this winter. Tickets go on general sale here at 10am BST this Friday (May 13). You can see the full schedule below.

This Saturday (May 14), Green will take to the stage at The Great Escape in Brighton ahead of playing at Truck Festival on July 21.

Phoebe Green will play:

MAY 2022
14 – The Great Escape, Brighton

JULY 2022
21 – Truck Festival, Steventon 

16 – Grand Social, Dublin
18 – Broadcast, Glasgow
19 – Mash House, Edinburgh
20 – Key Club, Leeds
22 – Omeara, London
23 – Bodega, Nottingham
24 – Louisiana, Bristol
26 – Yes Pink Room, Manchester
28 – The Cluny, Newcastle
30 – Bootleg Social, Blackpool

1 – Leaf, Liverpool
3 – Green Door Store, Brighton
4 – Joiners, Southampton