Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Quentin Tarantino receives songwriting credit on Paolo Nutini’s new album

The director receives a credit on the opening track of ‘Last Night In The Bittersweet’

By Hollie Geraghty

Paolo Nutini photographed for a publicity image
Paolo Nutini (Picture: Shamil Tanna)

Quentin Tarantino has received a songwriting credit on Paolo Nutini’s forthcoming new album, Last Night In The Bittersweet.

Last month, the Scottish singer-songwriter announced his first album in eight years, shared alongside two new songs, ‘Lose It’ and ‘Through The Echoes’. He also released third single ‘Shine A Light’ last week.

Now, it’s been revealed that the album, which is due to arrive on July 1, will feature an unlikely writing credit from Tarantino.

The iconic director is credited as a writer on opening track ‘Aftermath’, after the singer contacted him to ask for permission to sample a passage from his 1993 film True Romance, which stars Christian Slater and Patricia Arquette.

A source told The Sun: “Paolo likes to make all of his music himself, but to have Tarantino’s name credited on your track is pretty cool.”

Nutini previously sampled Charlie Chaplin’s speech from 1940’s The Great Dictator, which he used on 2014 song ‘Iron Sky’.

Last Night In The Bittersweet will be the first new album from the singer since 2014’s Caustic Love. He previously announced a hiatus from the music industry in 2017.

The new record has been produced alongside previous collaborator Dani Castelar and Adequate Seven member Gavin Fitzjohn.

Find the Last Night In The Bittersweet tracklist below.

  1. ‘Afterneath’
  2. ‘Radio’
  3. ‘Through The Echoes’
  4. ‘Acid Eyes’
  5. ‘Stranded Words’ (Interlude)
  6. ‘Lose It’
  7. ‘Petrified In Love’
  8. ‘Everywhere’
  9. ‘Abigail’
  10. ‘Children Of The Stars’
  11. ‘Heart Filled Up’
  12. ‘Shine A Light’
  13. ‘Desperation’
  14. ‘Julianne’
  15. ‘Take Me Take Mine’
  16. ‘Writer’

Nutini was one of the support acts at Liam Gallagher‘s anticipated return to Knebworth this weekend (June 3 and 4), where he covered Oasis‘ 1994 song ‘Half The World Away’.

Later this year, Nutini is also embarking on a UK and European tour in support of the LP. Tickets can be purchased here, and you can find the full list of dates below.

21 – Milk Market, Limerick, Ireland
24 – Olympia Theatre, Dublin, Ireland

26 – Täubchenthal, Leipzig, Germany
27 – Neue Theaterfabrik, Munich, Germany
29 – X-Tra, Zurich, Switzerland
30 – Fabrique, Milan, Italy

2 – E-Werk Cologne, Cologne, Germany
3 – La Cigale, Paris, France
5 – Cirque Royal, Brussels, Belgium
6 – Rockhal Club, Luxembourg
8 – Paradiso, Amsterdam, Netherlands
9 – Paradiso, Amsterdam, Netherlands
22 – O2 Victoria Warehouse, Manchester
25 – Alexandra Palace, London
28 – O2 Academy 1, Birmingham
29 – Bonus Arena, Hull
31 – O2 Academy, Edinburgh

1 – Music Hall, Aberdeen