Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

She & Him announce new Brian Wilson tribute album and share first single

The album will feature 14 covers from the Beach Boy founder's catalogue, including a song featuring Wilson himself

By Hollie Geraghty

She & Him stand together for a shadowy press shot in a polka dot dress and black suit
She & Him, 2022 (Picture: Chantal Anderson).

She & Him have announced a new album called ‘Melt Away: A Tribute To Brian Wilson’ and released first single ‘Darlin”.

The duo, comprising  M. Ward and Zooey Deschanel, will release their first new album in six years on July 22, featuring all covers from The Beach Boys founder.

You can listen to ‘Darlin”, taken from the The Beach Boys’ 1967 album ‘Wild Honey’, below.

The record features 14 covers from Wilson’s catalogue, and even includes a feature from the iconic musician himself on ‘Do It Again’.

“In the spring of 2020, we started a list of our favorite Brian songs — a very long list,” the duo said in a statement.

“We chose songs without any regard to their chart performance. The obscure ones hit us just as hard as the more popular songs — and all are ripe for re-imagining, re-interpreting, and re-inventing.

“Brian writes songs of beauty and loneliness and vulnerability better than anyone — and by sequencing them next to popular songs of confidence and love and fun, it creates a more complete picture of life on earth.”

A green, red and blue pop art album cover with animated images of Zooey Deschanel and M.Ward
She & Him ‘Melt Away: A Tribute To Brian Wilson’ cover art (Picture: Press).

Speaking about the album, Wilson said: “Zooey and Matt did such mind-blowing versions of our songs. The harmonies are beautiful and right on. I love this record!”

‘Melt Away’ is the duo’s follow-up to 2016’s festive album ‘Christmas Party’, marking their second album of non-holiday covers since 2014’s ‘Classics’.

‘Melt Away: A Tribute To Brian Wilson’ is available to pre-order here.

Find the full album tracklisting below.

1. ‘Darlin’’
2. ‘Wouldn’t It Be Nice’
3. ‘Til I Die’
4. ‘Deirdre’
5. ‘Melt Away’
6. ‘Good To My Baby’
7. ‘Don’t Talk (Put Your Head On My Shoulder)’
8. ‘Don’t Worry Baby’
9. ‘This Whole World’
10. ‘Kiss Me, Baby’
11. ‘Do It Again’ ft. Brian Wilson
12. ‘Heads You Win, Tails I Lose’
13. ‘Please Let Me Wonder’
14. ‘Meant For You’

She & Him are due to embark on a US tour next month, kicking off in Denver on June 13, and finishing up in Michigan on September 16. Tickets are available to purchase here.