Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Speedy Wunderground announces tenth anniversary party and vinyl box set

The London event will feature performers from the indie label's 'past, present and future'

By Tom Skinner

Speedy Wunderground tenth anniversary logo
Speedy Wunderground tenth anniversary logo. CREDIT: Press

Independent label Speedy Wunderground has announced a special London gig and vinyl box set to mark its tenth anniversary.

Co-founded a decade ago by producer Dan Carey, the label has released early material from the likes of Squid, Black Midi, Loyle Carner, Kae Tempest, The Lounge Society and Black Country, New Road.

Speedy Wunderground is due to takeover the Village Underground in Shoreditch, east London on Saturday, September 15 for a tenth birthday bash.

The event, which runs from 8pm to 3am, will feature a host of guest performers from the label’s “past, present and future”, as well as DJs and other special guests. No names are being revealed until closer to the night, in “typical Speedy style”.

Per an official listing, the gig will be “a mammoth 7-hour celebration” of all things Speedy Wunderground.

“Based on the wide range of era-defining artists they’ve worked with over the last decade, with the significant influence they continue to have on the current independent musical landscape, anything could happen, and probably will,” it adds. “Expect the unexpected.”

Speedy Wunderground tenth anniversary party

Tickets are available now for £21.22 via Dice – you can purchase yours here.

Speedy Wunderground is also marking its tenth anniversary with the release of a 7″ vinyl box set, which is limited to 250 copies. The Dubs – Volume 1 contains ten discs and twenty tracks of the original dub remixes produced by label co-founder Carey under his Savage Gary moniker.

The collection is set for release on August 4 – see the full tracklist below.

1a. AArchie Bronson Outfit – ‘Mr Dan’s Dead Duck Dub’
1b. Toy & Natasha Khan – ‘(Here Comes) Dub Bride’
2a. Scottibrains – ‘Mr Dan’s Shut Eye Dub’ 
2b. JUCE! – ‘Mr Dan’s No Brain Dub’
3a. Kae Tempest & Loyle Carner – ‘Guts’  – Mr Dan’s Balloon Dub
3b. Telegram – ‘Mr Dan’s Inside Out’  Dub
4a. Teleman – ‘Mr Dan’s Strange Dubby Nations ‘ 
4b. Peluché – ‘Mr Dan’s Gammy Eye Dub’                 
5a. Melt Yourself Down – ‘Mr Dan’s Another Dub’
5b. DEWEY – ‘Mr Dan’s Dub Me Over’
6a. black midi – ‘savage gary’s dbdbdb’
6b. Black Country, New Road – ‘Athen’s, France’ – Savage Gary’s Takedown dub
7a. All We Are & Alex Kapranos – ‘Heart Attack’ – Savage Gary’s Remix
7b. Tiña – ‘Dicks In The Dub’
8a. Pynch – ‘Orla Carey’s Pynch Your Lights Out Dub’
8b. PVA – ‘Savage Gary’s Christmas Dub’
9a. Brodka & Scottibrains – ‘Wrong Dub Party’
9b. moa moa – ‘Savage Gary’s Candy Dub’
10a. deep tan – ‘Savage Gary’s furry flash’
10b. Honeyglaze – ‘Savage Gary’s Robber Dub Dub Remix’

Dan Carey produced most of Wet Leg‘s self-titled studio album, as well as Fontaines D.C.‘s third record ‘Skinty Fear’, both of which came out last year.