Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Spiritualized announce new album ‘Everything Was Beautiful’

The announcement comes with the release of the album's opening single 'Always Together With You'

By Hollie Geraghty

J Spaceman wears a space suit and helmet in the 'Everything Was Beautiful'
'Everything Was Beautiful' is due to be released February 25 2022. (Photo: Press).

Spiritualized have announced their new album ‘Everything Was Beautiful’, coming February 25 2022.

The album is the follow up to 2018’s ‘And Nothing Hurt’ and features J Spaceman playing 16 different instruments.

The space rock band have also shared the album’s opening single ‘​​Always Together With You’, a reworking of a 2014 track.

The new record came as a result of Spaceman’s zen “solitude” during the Covid-19 lockdowns. “I felt like I’d been in training for this my whole life,” he said.

Put down at 11 different studios, Spaceman also recruited more than 30 musicians and singers including his daughter Poppy and collaborator and friend John Coxon. The tracks feature string and brass sections, choirs and finger bells and chimes from the Whitechapel Bell Foundry.

“There was so much information on it that the slightest move would unbalance it but going around in circles is important to me,” Spaceman said. “Not like you’re spiralling out of control but you’re going around and around and on each revolution, you hold onto the good each time. Sure, you get mistakes as well, but you hold on to some of those too and that’s how you kind of… achieve. Well, you get there.”

The band has also announced a UK and international tour from March to May 2022, including a headline performance at London’s Roundhouse on May 10.

Listen to ‘Always Together With You’ below.

The cover artwork is designed with previous graphic collaborator Mark Farrow. The vinyl version comes with a pillbox in the sleeve that can be assembled. “Farrow and I were talking about what we should do and we just said, ‘It’s called ‘Everything Is Beautiful’, how could you not have a pill?’” Spaceman said.

‘Everything Was Beautiful’ is due to be released February 25 2022 via Bella Union and can be ordered here.

Find the full tracklist below.

1. ‘Always Together With You’

2. ‘Best Thing You Never Had’

3. ‘Let It Bleed (For Iggy)’

4. ‘Crazy’

5. ‘The Mainline Song’

6. ‘The A Song (Laid In Your Arms)’

7. ‘I’m Coming Home Again

Find the UK tour schedule below.


28  – Bath, UK – The Forum 

29 – Cambridge, UK – Corn Exchange 

30 – Brighton, UK – Dome


02  – Birmingham, UK – Symphony Hall 

04  – Gateshead, UK – Sage 

05  – Glasgow, UK – SWG3 Galvanizers

07  – Dublin, IE – Olympia Theatre  

08  – Manchester, UK – Bridgewater Hall 

09  – Nottingham, UK – Royal Concert Hall 

10  – London, UK – Roundhouse