Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Suede announce ninth album ‘Autofiction’ and share lead single – listen

The art rock stalwarts return on September 16

By Joe Goggins

Suede press shot, 2022
The Britpop heroes are back. (Photo: Dean Chalkley)

Indie rock staples Suede have announced their ninth album and released its lead single, which you can hear below.

The London five-piece, who enjoyed platinum-selling success at the height of the Britpop era in the 1990s, are back with ‘Autofiction’, which frontman Brett Anderson has prefaced by proclaiming it to be the band’s “punk record”. The first taste of it, ‘She Still Leads Me On’, opens the 11-track album, which is the group’s first since ‘The Blue Hour’ in 2018. 

“‘Autofiction’ is our punk record,” announces Anderson in a press release. “No whistles and bells. Just the five of us in a room with all the glitches and fuck-ups revealed; the band themselves exposed in all their primal mess.” The album was cut live at Konk Studios in North London, with long-time collaborator Ed Buller on production duties. Suede’s first collaboration with Buller was their debut single, ‘The Drowners’ which turned 30 this month.

He would go on to produce their first three studio albums, ‘Suede’, ‘Dog Man Star’ and ‘Coming Up’, capturing the art rockers in their nineties pomp. Now, he’s caught them as they enter their fifth decade together. “‘Autofiction’ has a natural freshness, it’s where we want to be,” Anderson has gone on. Bassist Mat Osman, meanwhile, has also weighed in: “When we were rehearsing and writing this record it was this sheer, physical rush,” he said. “That thing where you’re hanging on for dear life.”

‘Autofiction’ will arrive via BMG on September 16. In announcing it, the band have also shared details of a pair of unusually intimate shows in London, at the Electric Ballroom in Camden; they’ll headline the venue on October 5 and 6. The release also promises “more live activity soon to be announced.” In the meantime, you can see the full track listing for the new album below.

Suede – ‘Autofiction’:

  1. ‘She Still Leads Me On’
  2. ‘Personality Disorder’
  3. ’15 Again’
  4. ‘The Only Way I Can Love You’
  5. ‘That Boy on the Stage’
  6. ‘Drive Myself Home’
  7. ‘Black Ice’
  8. ‘Shadow Self’
  9. ‘It’s Always the Quiet Ones’
  10. ‘What Am I Without You?’
  11. ‘Turn Off Your Brain and Yell’