Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

The 1975 announced as ambassadors for Record Store Day 2023

The role will see their 2016 BBC Live Lounge Symphony released on vinyl

By Joe Goggins

The members of The 1975 pose inside a house in a black-and-white photograph
The 1975, 2022. (Photo: Jordan Curtis Hughes)

The 1975 have been announced as official ambassadors for Record Store Day 2023.

The Wilmslow indie rockers are partnering with the annual celebration of independent music stores as it gears up to return for a 17th year. As part of the agreement, they will release a new live album, which captures their performance with the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra for a special Radio 1 Live Lounge Symphony in September 2016. You can see the full track listing below.

The show, which took place at the iconic Tower Ballroom in Blackpool, caught them in the midst of touring for their eclectic second album, I like it when you sleep, for you are so beautiful yet so unaware of it. Accordingly, it saw them lend a touch of classical grandeur to the likes of ‘Love Me’, ‘A Change of Heart’, ‘Somebody Else’ and ‘Loving Someone’, as well as hand live debuts to ‘Please Be Naked’ and ‘Lostmyhead’. Additionally, they threw in a couple of their past Live Lounge covers, of Justin Bieber’s ‘Sorry’ and One Direction’s ‘What Makes You Beautiful’.

This year’s Record Store Day takes place on Saturday, April 22. Speaking about the link-up, The 1975 frontman Matty Healy said: “The guys and I are really proud to be ambassadors for Record Store Day this year. Independent record stores are the lifeblood of the music industry and have played a crucial role in our story so far. It couldn’t be more important to support their vital community and culture.”

The band follow in the footsteps of music royalty in representing Record Store Day; Elton John and Noel Gallagher have taken on the role in the past, while last year, Taylor Swift became its first ever global ambassador. Speaking about the positive impact for local record shops, Louise Jackson, of Bury store Wax and Beans, said: “We can’t wait to be taking part in Record Store Day again this year, and to have a Manchester band like the 1975 putting our local musical heritage on the map and celebrating the culture of record shops in this way is fantastic.

“Like all the stores involved in the day, we work incredibly hard all year round to keep our shop thriving as a hub for the music-loving community,” she went on. “Bands like The 1975 are a product of independent music scenes like ours all over the country who back emerging talent, so it feels great to see them championing indie record shops just like ours in such a meaningful way.”

You can find a list of participating stores here. Live with the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra will be available on CD, cassette and clear vinyl, exclusively from independent record stores.

The 1975 – Live with the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra:

  1. ‘I like it when you sleep, for you are so beautiful yet so unaware of it’
  2. ‘Love Me’
  3. ‘A Change of Heart’
  4. ‘Somebody Else’
  5. ‘Loving Someone’
  6. ‘Please Be Naked’
  7. ‘Lostmyhead’
  8. ‘Chocolate’
  9. ‘If I Believe You’
  10. ‘The Sound’