Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

The Avalanches announce new UK shows as part of 2022 European tour

The Australian duo will play 17 shows across the continent, including a set on Glastonbury's Park Stage

By Will Richards

The Avalanches pose by a car at sunset
The Avalanches. (Photo: Grant Spanier)

The Avalanches have announced details of a UK and European tour for summer 2022, set around their performance at Glastonbury.

The Australian group, who released third album ‘We Will Always Love You’ in 2020, will begin the tour in Aarhus, Denmark in early June at Northside Festival.

Gigs across the continent will then take place for the rest of the month, including three UK headline gigs in the run-up to Glastonbury.

See the full list of dates below and pick up tickets from 10am on Thursday (March 31) here.

JUNE 2022
3 – Northside Festival, Aarhus
5 – Forbidden Fruit Festival, Dublin
7 – Vulkan, Oslo
8 – Rosendal Garden, Stockholm
10 – Gruenspan, Hamburg
13 – Melkweg, Amsterdam
14 – Trabendo, Paris
20 – QMU, Glasgow
21 – O2 Ritz, Manchester
22 – Electric Brixton, London
23 – Chalk, Brighton
25 – Glastonbury Festival (Park Stage), Somerset
28 – Lisboa Ao Vivo, Lisbon
29 – Hard Club, Porto
30 – Vilanova I La Geltru, Vida Festival

JULY 2022
1 – Toulon, Pointu Festival

The Avalanches made their comeback in 2016 with the album ‘Wildflower’, which followed an extended break of over a decade and a half since lauded 2000 debut album ‘Since I Left You’.

Following the release of ‘We Will Always Love You’ in 2020, the band reissued ‘Since I Left You’ to celebrate its 20th anniversary.

The deluxe release features additional bonus tracks and new remixes, including versions of Avalanches songs by MF DOOM,Leon Vynehall, Carl Craig and more.

Retrospectively discussing the album, Robbie Chater said: “I remember very clearly a few things – we decided to not have any of our voices on it, which made it last because it’s a kind of transmission; nothing date-stamps it to that time.

“Music lovers get it, and that’s what we ultimately are. It’s almost like an exploration of our relationship with the world and with music. Looking back, I’m proud of this record as a pure expression of joy and love, heart on its sleeve and is free from irony.”