Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

The Murder Capital announce second album ‘Gigi’s Recovery’

The Irish band have also shared new single ‘A Thousand Lives’ and announced a European and UK tour next year

By Hollie Geraghty

The Murder Capital poses together for a press shot
The Murder Capital (Picture: Marcus Prouse Jr.)

The Murder Capital have announced their second album Gigi’s Recovery and shared new single ‘A Thousand Lives’ – listen below.

‘A Thousand Lives’ is the second cut from the Irish band’s forthcoming new album, which due out 20 January, 2023 via Human Season.

The five-piece performed their first headline show in two years last night (22 September) at London’s Lafayette, after returning with single ‘Only Good Things’ in July, their first new material since 2019.

The band have also announced a UK and European tour in February 2023, kicking off in Antwerp, Belgium, and rounding up in Cardiff, Wales at the end of the month. You can pre-order the album here.

Listen to ‘A Thousand Lives’ below.

Speaking about the new single, which arrives with a video directed by Tommy Davies, frontman James McGovern said: “Knowing that the day is only X-hours long, alongside my understanding of how love can be the true restorative seed, means that if and when you are so lucky to find it (and it is true) the seemingly small glance that is our lifetime could never contain enough of those days or those hours. Even a thousand of those lifetimes would never be enough.”

On the new album, the band added: “For us, having worked on Gigi’s Recovery over the past two-plus years, now knowing every detail of every room in this house that we have built together, all we want to do is invite everybody in. We can’t wait to reveal more and more of what we’ve been creating with this record, and eventually in the new year, to reveal the full story.

“The greatest thing about making a record is touring a record. The connection we make and the energy created at our live shows is the highest point for us. We can’t wait to meet new faces in the crowds, and to see this record under the new light that each and every one of you will shine on it. No better place to be than in the centre of it all.”

A 48-hour UK tour pre-sale will be available for those who pre-order the album, starting 9am BST on 26 September. General sale will follow at 9am on 28 September. Details can be found here.


4 – Trix Club, Antwerp, Belgium
5 – Luxor, Cologne, Germany
6 – Molotow Musikclub, Hamburg, Germany
8 – Lido, Berlin, Germany
9 – Hansa 39, Munich, Germany
11 – Laiterie Club, Strasbourg, France
13 – Le Trabendo, Paris, France
14 – Paradiso, Amsterdam, Netherlands
16 – Albert Hall, Manchester, UK
18 – SWG3, Glasgow, UK
20 – Stylus, Leeds, UK
21 – The Mill, Birmingham, UK
23 – The O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
24 – The Marble Factory, Bristol, UK
26 – Vicar Street, Dublin, Ireland
27 – The Tramshed, Cardiff, UK