Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

The Proclaimers removed from Coronation playlist due to Scottish duo’s ‘anti-monarchy views’

The duo – brothers Craig and Charlie Reid – will no longer feature on the playlist with their classic hit 'I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles)'

By Nick Reilly

The Proclaimers perform live (Picture: YouTube)

The Proclaimers have been removed from the official Coronation playlist as a result of their ‘anti-monarchy views’.

The duo – brothers Craig and Charlie Reid – will no longer feature on the playlist with their classic hit ‘I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles)’, ahead of King Charles III’s coronation at London’s Westminster Abbey on 6 May.

As the BBC reports, The Department for Culture, Media and Sport (DCMS) said the omission came as a result of complaints about their ‘anti-monarchy views’.

One example of their views came in an interview given by Charlie Reid, shortly after anti-monarchist Symon Hill was arrested in Oxford last September for shouting “who elected him?” when the King visited as part of a proclamation event.

Reid said: “I thought that guy spoke for me, and he speaks for loads of other people. Not just in Scotland, but right around the UK.”

It is also thought to be due to the pair’s 2007 track ‘In Recognition’, which they said was a representation of “our overwhelming contempt for people on the left in this country who snipe against the royal family and then end up taking honours”.

Earlier this year, Dizzee Rascal was removed from the playlist after he was convicted last year of assaulting his former partner.

A DCMS spokeswoman said in February: “A track featuring Dizzee Rascal was included in error – and as soon as this was identified, it was removed.”

The official Coronation playlist can instead be found in full below.

The Official Playlist For The King’s Coronation is:

1. ‘Come Together’ – The Beatles
2. ‘Daddy Cool’ – Boney M.
3. ‘A Sky Full Of Stars’ – Coldplay
4. ‘Let’s Dance’ – David Bowie
5. ‘Celestial’ – Ed Sheeran
6. ‘One Day Like This’ – Elbow
7. ‘Mr. Blue Sky’ – Electric Light Orchestra
8. ‘Starry Eyed’ – Ellie Goulding
9. ‘Starlight’ – Emeli Sandé
10. ‘Dance All Over Me’ – George Ezra
11. ‘Slave To The Rhythm – Hot Blooded Version’ – Grace Jones
12. ‘Treat People With Kindness’ – Harry Styles
13. ‘Running Up That Hill (A Deal With God)’ – Kate Bush
14. ‘Out House’ – Madness
15. ‘It’s A Beautiful Day’ – Michael Bublé
16. ‘All Over The World’ – Pet Shop Boys
17. ‘We Are The Champions’ – Queen
18. ‘People Get Ready’ – Jeff Beck & Rod Stewart
19. ‘SPACE MAN’ – Sam Ryder
20. ‘Gold’ – Spandau Ballet
21. ‘Say You’ll Be There’ – Spice Girls
22. ‘Shine’ – Take That
23. ‘Waterloo Sunset’ – The Kinks
24. ‘Love Reign O’er Me’ – The Who
25. ‘Green Green Grass Of Home’ – Tom Jones
26. ‘King’ – Years & Years