Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Priya Ragu announces debut album ‘Santhosam’

The record is being previewed by first single, 'Vacation'

By Will Richards

Priya Ragu
Priya Ragu (Picture: Press)

Priya Ragu has announced details of her debut album and shared its first single – watch the video for new track ‘Vacation’ below.

The LP, Santhosam, will be released on October 20 via Warner, and follows the release of two recent singles, ‘Easy’ and ‘Adalam Va!’.

“The album is my story of finding happiness,” Ragu said in a statement. “It helped me find my purpose in life. Maybe it will help others, too.”

Of new single ‘Vacation’, she added: “That song came about while we were touring and writing at the same time. We just reached a limit. We were exhausted from all of the travelling, creating and never really being home, so we booked a flight to India.

“But it’s not just about being a pop star or being creative. Even when I had my office job, I was lost in that. That song is a reminder of how important it is to give yourself a break, to step back, let loose and allow yourself to recharge your batteries.”

The Swiss-Tamil rapper earned rave reviews in 2021 for her debut mixtape ‘damnshetamil’, on which she introduced the world to what she calls ‘Raguwavy’; her signature blend of soul, R&B and hip hop, with elements of the Tamil music of her heritage.

See the tracklist for Santhosam below.

‘Ammama’s Note’
‘School Me Like That’
‘One Way Ticket’
‘Hit The Bucket’
‘Black Goose’
‘Let Me Breathe’
‘Adalam Va!’
‘Lovely Day’
‘Mani Osai’