Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

The Libertines announce new album ‘All Quiet On The Eastern Esplanade’

The band's first album in eight years is being previewed by first single 'Run Run Run'.

By Will Richards

The Libertines
The Libertines, 2023 (Picture: Ed Cooke)

The Libertines have announced All Quiet On The Eastern Esplanade, their first new album in eight years, and shared its first single.

The follow-up to 2015’s Anthems For Doomed Youth will land on March 8, 2024 and the quartet have today shared first track ‘Run Run Run’.

Discussing making the album with producer Dimitri Tikovoï at their own Albion Rooms in Margate, Pete Doherty said: “We really came together as a band. It was a moment of rare peace and unity, with all the members contributing.”

Carl Barat added: “Our first record was born out of panic, and disbelief that we were actually allowed to be in a studio; the second was born of total strife and misery; the third was born of complexity; this one feels like we were all actually in the same place, at the same speed, and we really connected.”

Discussing ‘Run Run Run’, Barat added: “It’s about being trapped, and trying to escape your dismal life, a bit like the man in Bukowski’s ‘Post Office’. The worst thing for The Libertines would be to get stuck in a ‘Run-run-run’ rut, constantly trying to relive our past.”

Listen to the new track below.

Of the band’s latest era, Doherty added: “We’re over the moon, and the ball is in the back of the net… and I’m chuffed for the lads!

“I feel like we’ve completed a cycle of some kind as a band, and finally now we can add these songs to the set list, because we’ve got some bangers in there. Now we’ve opened the hotel and used the studio ourselves and it’s all worked out – more Libertines records? I should hope so!”

Fans who pre-order All Quiet On The Eastern Esplanade here will have the chance to buy tickets for two special gigs at Margate’s Lido on December 9 and 10.

See the artwork and tracklist for the new album below.

1. Run, Run, Run
2. Mustang
3. Have A Friend
4. Merry Old England
5. Man With The Melody
6. Oh Shit
7. Night Of The Hunter
8. Baron’s Claw
9. Shiver
10. Be Young
11. Songs They Never Play On The Radio