Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Everything Everything release new single ‘I Want a Love Like This’ – listen

It's the latest preview of their sixth album, out in May

By Joe Goggins

Everything Everything press shot, 2022
'Raw Data Feel' was made in collaboration with an artificial intelligence program. (Photo: Press)

Everything Everything have served up another taste of their forthcoming sixth album ‘Raw Data Feel’.

The maverick Manchester art-pop outfit are readying the hugely ambitious album, which was made in collaboration with artificial intelligence, for a May 20 release, and have today (March 29) previewed it with a second single. ‘I Want a Love Like This’ follows on from February’s release of ‘Bad Friday’, and comes with an accompanying video directed by Foals collaborator Kit Monteith – you can watch it below.

‘Raw Data Feel’ was partially written by an artificial intelligence program created by the band, which was then fed pre-selected and highly diffuse information – everything from the entire terms and conditions of LinkedIn to the ancient epic poem Beowulf, in addition to 400,000 4Chan forum posts and the teachings of Confucius, among others. They’ll preview the album on a UK tour starting tomorrow (March 30) – you can see the full dates below.

The AI’s responses were then used to form the basis for the lyrics, song titles and artwork for ‘Raw Data Feel’. The album title itself, meanwhile, is a reflection of the band attempting to make a record “straight from the heart, rather than the ego”, according to drummer Mike Spearman in a press release. The new track is in keeping with this, a maelstrom of polished synth that sounds particularly futuristic, while remaining true to the off-kilter feel and wonky rhythms that have defined so much of the group’s past work.

In February, frontman Jonathan Higgs went in-depth on the new record for an interview with Rolling Stone UK, in which he strongly hinted that ‘Raw Data Feel’ will be a more upbeat affair than albums past. I don’t enjoy sad music anymore,” he said. “I don’t enjoy listening to it and I don’t enjoy making it. I can’t do it right now in my life and I don’t want to at the moment.” 

“I don’t want to go round the world playing sad songs about woe is me, he continued. “I’ve done enough of that. I’ve had some big changes since 2020 and I’ve got this new chapter and I’m not really the same person. If you want to listen to really sad songs by me I’ve done 200 of them! We wanted a party.”

Everything Everything, March 2022:

30 – Cardiff, Tramshed

31 – Nottingham, Rock City

April 2022:

1 – Leeds, O2 Academy

2 – Newcastle, University

4 – Glasgow, SWG3

5 – Liverpool, O2 Academy

7 – Norwich, Waterfront

8 – Manchester, Academy

9 – Birmingham, O2 Academy

11 – Bristol, O2 Academy

12 – Brighton, Dome

13 – London, Roundhouse

14 – Keele, University