Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Jamie xx announces long-awaited second album ‘In Waves’ with new single ‘Treat Each Other Right’

The follow-up to 2015's ‘In Colour’ will feature Robyn, The Avalanches, his bandmates in The xx and more.

By Will Richards

Jamie xx
Jamie xx (Picture: Alasdair McLellan)

Jamie xx has announced details of his long-awaited second studio album. In Waves will land in September and is being previewed by new single ‘Treat Each Other Right’.

The follow-up to lauded 2015 debut In Colour is out on September 20 via Young, and also features joyous recent Honey Dijon collaboration ‘Baddy on the Floor’.

“I am so unbelievably happy,” Jamie said of the news. “It’s been a while…  and a lot has happened in that time. Ups and downs, growing up, figuring stuff out and then forgetting it all many times over. Life changing events and world changing events. These waves that we have all experienced together and alone.”

He added: “I wanted to make something fun, joyful and introspective all at once. The best moments on a dance floor are usually that for me. I can’t wait to share it with you.”

Watch the raucous video for ‘Treat Each Other Right’ and see the artwork and tracklist for In Waves below.

In Waves:

1. ‘Wanna’
2. ‘Treat Each Other Right’
3. ‘Waited All Night’ (ft. Romy & Oliver Sim)
4. ‘Baddy On The Floor’ (ft. Honey Dijon)
5. ‘Dafodil’ (ft. Kelsey Lu, John Glacier & Panda Bear)
6. ‘Still Summer’
7. ‘Life’ (ft. Robyn)
8. ‘The Feeling I Get From You’
9. ‘Breather’
10. ‘All You Children’ (ft. The Avalanches)
11. ‘Every Single Weekend’ (Interlude)
12. ‘Falling Together’ (ft. Oona Doherty)

Jamie xx

Following his recent ten-night residency, The Floor, at London’s Venue MOT, Jamie xx will play a huge headline show in the city at Alexandra Palace on September 26. He will also headline the Woodsies stage at this month’s Glastonbury.