Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Animal Collective announce reissue of debut album and new EP of unreleased songs

The remastered version of ‘Spirit They’re Gone, Spirit They’ve Vanished’ will be released alongside a five-track EP featuring a cover of Fleetwood Mac's ‘Dreams’

By Hollie Geraghty

Animal Collective on SiriusXM
Animal Collective 2022 (Picture: YouTube/ SiriusXM).

Animal Collective have announced a reissue of their 2000 debut album, Spirit They’re Gone, Spirit They’ve Vanished.

The remastered edition – out May 12 via Domino – will feature remastered versions of the album’s original 10 songs, released alongside a bonus EP with five previously unreleased tracks, called A Night at Mr. Raindrop’s Holistic Supermarket – including a cover of Fleetwood Mac‘s ‘Dreams’.

Arriving with new artwork from Avey Tare – real name David Portner – and his sister, Abby, the remastered album will be available to buy in vinyl and CD.

You can listen to ‘Untitled #1’, the first track from the new EP, and a remastered version of  ‘Chocolate Girl’, below.

Released back in 2000, the album was originally released by Avey Tare and Panda Bear as a small CD run before being credited as Animal Collective’s debut.

Avey Tare reflected on the album in an Instagram post shared today (March 13). “I was 20 years old when this record was completed, Noah [Panda Bear] was 21,” he wrote.

“I could not even have imagined that 23 years later I’d be preparing to re-release it to fans who are just as excited about it as i was back then. Mind blown. This record still means so much to me. Thanks for listening.”

Find the full tracklisting for Spirit They’re Gone, Spirit They’ve Vanished (Remastered 2023) and A Night at Mr. Raindrop’s Holistic Supermarket below.

Spirit They’re Gone, Spirit They’ve Vanished:
1. ‘Spirit They’ve Vanished’ (Remastered 2023)
2. ‘April And The Phantom’ (Remastered 2023)
3. ‘Untitled’ (Remastered 2023)
4. ‘Penny Dreadfuls’ (Remastered 2023)
5. ‘Chocolate Girl’ (Remastered 2023)
6. ‘Everyone Whistling’ (Remastered 2023)
7. ‘La Rapet’ (Remastered 2023)
8. ‘Bat You’ll Fly’ (Remastered 2023)
9. ‘Someday I’ll Grow To Be As Tall As The Giant’ (Remastered 2023)
10. ‘Alvin Row’ (Remastered 2023)

A Night at Mr. Raindrop’s Holistic Supermarket:
1. ‘An An Angel’
2. ‘Untitled #1’
3. ‘Bus Travel New York Tare My Face Off pt. 1’
4. ‘Dreams’ (Fleetwood Mac cover)
5. ‘Bus Travel New York Tare My Face Off pt. 2’

Back in October, Animal Collective were forced to cancel their UK and European tour dates, citing “inflation, to currency devaluation, to bloated shipping and transportation costs, and much much more,” that meant they “simply could not make a budget for this tour that did not lose money”.