Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Courtney Barnett releases theme song for ‘Harriet the Spy’ series

‘Smile Real Nice’ will feature as the opening song in the new Apple TV+ animated adaptation

By Hollie Geraghty

Courtney Barnett poses live
Courtney Barnett (Picture: Press)

Courtney Barnett has released ‘Smile Real Nice’, the new track written by the Australian artist for the forthcoming ‘Harriet the Spy’ animated series.

The new Apple TV+ show is the first animated adaptation of Louise Fitzhugh’s 1964 children’s book.

“No I won’t comb my hair / And I’ll wear whatever / And I like it when I get to be myself,” Barnett declares in the defiant verses. “I don’t wanna be / You don’t wanna be / We don’t wanna be / Told what to do.”

The series, which arrives on the streaming platform on November 19, features ‘Booksmart’ star Beanie Feldstein as the voice of Harriet. 

‘Glee’ actress Jane Lynch voices Harriet’s nanny Ole Golly, and Lacey Chabert features as Marion Hawthorne.

The series follows the rebellious and curious Harriet, an 11-year-old who seeks to “learn everything about anything” in order to pursue her dreams of becoming a professional writer.

The animated series comes 25 years after ‘Harriet the Spy’ was adapted for a Nickelodeon film.

The first five episodes will be available to stream on AppleTV+  on November 19, while the second half is due to air in spring 2022.

Listen to ‘Smile Real Nice’ below.

Barnett’s new track comes in the lead up to her third album release ‘Things Take Time, Take Time’, having released singles ‘Write a List of Things to Look Forward To’, ‘Before You Gotta Go’, and ‘Rae Street’.

According to a press release, the new album signals “an exciting new chapter for a musician who is operating at the very peak of her powers”.

It adds: “It’s an exquisite look at Courtney’s private world, and consequently her most beautiful and intimate record to date, with songs dealing unabashedly with love, renewal, healing and self-discovery.”

Find the full album tracklist below.

‘Rae Street’

‘Sunfair Sundown’

‘Here’s The Thing’

‘Before You Gotta Go’

‘Turning Green’

‘Take It Day By Day’

‘If I Don’t Hear From You Tonight’

‘Write A List of Things To Look Forward To’


‘Oh The Night’