Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Drake surprise-releases seventh studio album, ‘Honestly, Nevermind’

The Canadian rap titan announced the record late last night (June 16)

By Joe Goggins

Drake press shot, 2021
The album follows last year's 'Certified Lover Boy'. (Photo: Press)

Drake has released his seventh full-length album, just hours after the surprise announcement of it – you can hear it in its entirety below.

‘Honestly, Nevermind’ dropped at midnight, with the Canadian rap titan having posted news of its imminent arrival to his Instagram yesterday evening (June 16). He had previously hinted at new music back in March. The record comprises 14 tracks, with executive production credits going to Drake himself, his long-time collaborator Noah “40” Shebib, and his manager, Oliver El-Khatib, as well as Noel Cadastre and Black Coffee. 

The album is almost entirely without features, with the sole guest turn coming from 21 Savage on the final track, ‘Jimmy Cook’s’. Drake played the album shortly after its release on his new SiriusXM Sound 42 radio show, Table for One. He posted an extensive message to his Apple Music page to accompany ‘Honestly, Nevermind’, in which he reflected on the mindset that led to the record.

“I let my humbleness turn to numbness at times letting time go by knowing I got the endurance to catch it another time,” he ruminated. “I work with every breath in my body cause it’s the work not air that makes me feel alive. That’s some real detrimental shit but that’s that shit my perfectionist mind doesn’t really mind because no one knows whats on my mind when I go to sleep at 9 & wake up at 5 – unless I say it in rhyme.”

He went on to make enigmatic comments about “revenge” and his failure to forgive unnamed transgressors, just months after he squashed a long-standing beef with Kanye West. “I purposely try to forget what went on between some ppl and I because I know I’m not a forgiving guy even when I try,” he said. “My urge for revenge wins the game against my good guy inside every single fckn time. I got plans I can’t talk about with more than like 4 guys because the last time I shared em with someone on the outside…well that’s another story for another night.” 

“I got here being realistic,” he concluded. “I didn’t get here being blind. I know whats what and especially what and who is by my side. Honestly…Nevermind. DEDICATED TO OUR BROTHER V.” That sign-off would appear to be a reference to the late fashion designer Virgil Abloh, with whom Drake was close and who passed at the age of 41 last November.

The album is the rapper’s first since 2021’s ‘Certified Lover Boy’, and appears to mark a turn towards a sound indebted to house music. You can see the track listing in its entirety below.

Drake – ‘Honestly, Nevermind’:

  1. ‘Intro’
  2. ‘Falling Back’
  3. ‘Texts Go Green’
  4. ‘Currents’
  5. ‘A Keeper’
  6. ‘Calling My Name’
  7. ‘Sticky’
  8. ‘Massive’
  9. ‘Flight’s Booked’
  10. ‘Overdrive’
  11. ‘Down Hill’
  12. ‘Tie That Binds’
  13. ‘Liability’
  14. ‘Jimmy Cook’s’ [feat. 21 Savage]