Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Evan Rachel Wood’s Marilyn Manson documentary gets release date

The new documentary will premiere on HBO next month

By Elizabeth Aubrey

Evan Rachel Wood
Evan Rachel Wood (Picture: AP)

The premiere date for Evan Rachel Wood’s documentary about Marilyn Manson has been announced by network HBO.

The documentary, called Phoenix Rising, documents Wood’s decision to name Manson as her alleged abuser. Manson has denied the allegations.

Last year, Wood publicly accused Manson – who was also her former partner – of abuse and claimed that he started grooming her as a teenager. She went on to say that he “horrifically abused me for years.”

In the new trailer, Wood says, “I’m here today to talk about Brian Warner also known to the world as Marilyn Manson.”

Another clip sees Wood’s mother accuse Manson of being “a predator” while her brother says “everyone was looking at Marilyn Manson and they weren’t looking at Brian Warner”.

Elsewhere in the trailer, footage of Wood testifying in front of a lawmakers can be seen.

You can watch the trailer here:

After Wood publicly accused Manson of abuse, more women came forward with their own allegations including Game of Thrones actor Esme Bianco who is suing Manson for alleged sexual assault, physical abuse and human trafficking.

Manson’s former assistant, Ashley Walters, is also suing him for sexual assault, battery and harassment.

Manson has denied all allegations by Wood and others, claiming that his accusers are “cynically and dishonestly seeking to monetise and exploit the #MeToo movement” by launching a “coordinated attack against him”.

The new documentary from Wood will be broadcast in two parts. Part one, Don’t Fall, will be broadcast on March 15, while Stand Up will arrive a day later on March 16.

Directed by Amy Berg, Phoenix Rising: Don’t Fall initially premiered at the 2022 Sundance Film Festival.

The full film will be available to stream on HBO Max from March 15.