Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Father John Misty shares snippet of new song, covered by Lana Del Rey – listen

'Buddy's Rendezvous' will feature on 'Chloë and the Next 20th Century'

By Joe Goggins

Father John Misty
Josh Tillman's fifth solo album is out on April 8. (Photo: Getty)

Father John Misty has shared a snippet of a yet-to-be-released song from his new album – as covered by Lana Del Rey.

The indie folk troubadour – real name Josh Tillman – announced his fifth solo album, ‘Chloë and the Next 20th Century’, earlier this month. It’ll land on April 8 via Sub Pop and Bella Union, and the deluxe vinyl edition of the record will come with two special 7-inches, one of which will feature Del Rey’s take on the album track ‘Buddy’s Rendezvous’. The other sees Jack Cruz cover ‘Kiss Me (I Loved You)’, another track from ‘Chloë’.

Tillman shared the 20-second clip on his Instagram page – you can hear it below. He appeared in the video for Del Rey’s freak back in 2016, telling NME at that year’s Brit Awards that he’d “do anything she told me to. That’s what I enjoyed about the video, just being her puppet. I like being told what to do by a woman in that position.”

In December, Tillman – whose last full-length was 2018’s ‘God’s Favourite Customer’ – sent out a flexi-disc to a small number of fans containing a spoken-word recording that detailed ‘Chloë’. He formally confirmed the album earlier this month, as well as an orchestral show in London in April – he’ll play the Barbican on the eve of the record’s release, with Barbican Associate Ensemble Britten Sinfonia, and Jules Buckley as conductor. 

It is one of two such gigs in the diary for Tillman – he’ll also play with the LA Philharmonic on February 25, at the Walt Disney Concert Hall in Los Angeles. The first single from ‘Chloë’, ‘Funny Girl’, is streaming now on all major platforms. The new album will be Tillman’s first release since his surprise 2020 live album, the 20-track ‘Off-Key in Hamburg’. The eleven songs on ‘Chloë’ were produced by Jonathan Wilson, who was behind the desk on all four previous Father John Misty albums.

The track listing for ‘Chloë and the Next 20th Century’ is as follows:

  1. ‘Chloë’
  2. ‘Goodbye Mr. Blue’
  3. ‘Kiss Me (I Loved You)’
  4. ‘(Everything But) Her Love’
  5. ‘Buddy’s Rendezvous’
  6. ‘Q4’
  7. ‘Olvidado (Otro Momento)’
  8. ‘Funny Girl’
  9. ‘Only a Fool’
  10. ‘We Could Be Strangers’
  11. ‘The Next 20th Century’