Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Jessie Ware announces fifth album and unveils first single

'That! Feels Good!' is out on April 28

By Joe Goggins

Jessie Ware press shot, 2023
The album will be Ware's first since 2020. (Photo: Press)

Jessie Ware has announced details of her fifth solo album, and unveiled the second single – see the full track listing below.

That! Feels Good! will be available via EMI on April 28. It is prefaced today by new single ‘Pearls’, which picks up where her disco-inflected fourth record, What’s Your Pleasure?, left off; you can hear it below. The track was co-written and produced by Coffee Clarence, JR, Sarah Hudson and Stuart Price, and follows on from ‘Free Yourself’, which offered a first taste of That! Feels Good! when it arrived last August.

Speaking about ‘Pearls’, Ware said: “‘Pearls’ is a record that doesn’t take itself too seriously but demands you to have a dance.  It’s inspired by divas like Donna Summer, Evelyn Champagne King, Teena Marie and Chaka Khan and I guess attempts to show – in lightness – all the hats I try to wear (usually at the same time).  It’s the second song you will hear from my collaboration with Stuart Price and Coffee – with the wonderful addition of Sarah Hudson – and hopefully gives you a taste of the fun we have working together.”

Speaking about That! Feels Good! more broadly, the Londoner went on: “That! Feels Good! is a record to be enjoyed, to sing and shout the words back at me and to each other. It’s a culmination of hard work and total pleasure appreciating the job I have and the worlds I get to dive into. I have never felt so ready for people to hear something I’ve made.”

The announcement follows the appearance of mysterious billboards with Ware’s face across the British capital in recent weeks. What’s Your Pleasure? became her highest-charting record in the UK when it peaked at number 3 upon release in June 2020. Ware continues to host her Table Manners culinary podcast with her mother, Lennie, with the show having racked up fourteen seasons and welcomed guests including Paul McCartney, Daniel Kaluuya and Robbie Williams.

Jessie Ware – That! Feels Good!:

  1. ‘That! Feels Good!’
  2. ‘Free Yourself’
  3. ‘Pearls’
  4. ‘Hello Love’
  5. ‘Begin Again’
  6. ‘Beautiful People’
  7. ‘Freak Me Now’
  8. ‘Shake the Bottle’
  9. ‘Lightning’
  10. ‘These Lips’