Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Kae Tempest teams up with Lianne La Havas on ‘No Prizes’

Tempest's new album 'The Line is A Curve' lands next month

By Will Richards

Kae Tempest press shot, 2022
'The Line Is a Curve' is Tempest's first new album since 2019. (Photo: Wolfgang Tillmans/Press)

Kae Tempest has shared another new track from their upcoming album – listen to ‘No Prizes’, featuring Lianne La Havas, below.

Songwriter and poet Tempest’s fourth studio album, ‘The Line Is a Curve’, is due out on April 8. It’s their first full-length release since 2019’s ‘The Book of Traps and Lessons’.

Speaking about ‘No Prizes’, Tempest said: “Made a song with my good friend and mind-blowing artist Lianne La Havas. So grateful for her voice in the world and on this record. A portrait of three people getting on with getting on. I just got to keep climbing.”

Watch the video for the new track below.

‘The Line Is a Curve’ will be Tempest’s first release since coming out as non-binary in August 2020. Along with a feature from Kevin Abstract of Brockhampton on ‘More Pressure’, it’s also set to include guest turns by Fontaines D.C., assia and Confucius MC. Long-time collaborator Dan Carey handles production duties. 

“There are collaborators that have come to play session parts that I’ve been playing with since I was 17 years old and with Dan Carey, this is album four,” Tempest explained. “We’ve spent the best part of a decade just getting to know each other, and it creates this sense of community. 

“I think that some of my other albums were coming from a place of real isolation and often despair.” they went on. “This album hopefully comes from a place where I’ve made some changes in my life. I’m trying to let go of some of that stuff. So maybe it’s a less lonely listen.”

Tempest will head out on an extensive UK tour later this year in support of ‘The Line Is a Curve’. After playing a trio of U.S. gigs in March, they’ll head home the following month to play shows in Manchester, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Cambridge, Bexhill-on-Sea, Brighton, Belfast, Bristol, Liverpool, Birmingham, Leeds, Hull, Cardiff, Sheffield, Leicester, London and Gateshead.

See the tour dates in full below.

APRIL 2022
22 – Manchester, Albert Hall
23 – Edinburgh, Assembly Rooms
24 – Glasgow, SWG3 Galvanizers Yard
26 – Cambridge, Corn Exchange
27 – Bexhill-on-Sea, De La Warr Pavilion
28 – Brighton, Dome

MAY 2022
3 – Belfast, Cathedral Quarter Festival
6 – Bristol, Marble Factory
8 – Liverpool, Grand Central Hall
10 – Birmingham, Town Hall
11 – Leeds, Stylus
12 – Hull, Asylum
14 – Cardiff, St. David’s Hall
15 – Sheffield, Octagon
16 – Leicester, O2 Academy
18 – London, O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire
21 – Gateshead, Sage