Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Kings of Leon return with rousing single ‘Mustang’

The band have shared the first song from their upcoming new album 'Can We Please Have Fun', due out May 10

By Daniel Kreps & Emily Zemler

Kings of Leon (Picture: Press)

Kings of Leon have released their new single, ‘Mustang,’ from the Followill crew’s upcoming new album Can We Please Have Fun. The Tennessee rock band has been teasing the song on social media all week, clearing their Instagram page except for a few posts about the track.

The LP, produced by Kid Harpoon and the band’s first as part of their new deal with Capitol Records, is due out May 10. Recorded at Nashville’s Dark Horse studio, the album is trumpeted as the one Kings of Leon have long wanted to make.

“It was the most enjoyable record I’ve ever been a part of,” Caleb Followill said in a statement. “It’s like we allowed ourselves to be musically vulnerable,” Nathan Followill added, “I love it when a rock band is not embarrassed to admit that every song doesn’t have to be on 11.”

‘Mustang’ is Kings of Leon’s first new music since their 2021 LP, When You See Yourself. That album, produced by Markus Dravs, marked their eighth full-length and first new album following a five-year hiatus. The band also released the album in the form of a non-fungible token (NFT), becoming the first band to ever do so.

The group will also headline BST Hyde Park on June 30 and you can buy tickets here.

Can We Please Have Fun Track List

  1. Ballerina Radio
  2. Rainbow Ball
  3. Nowhere To Run
  4. Mustang
  5. Actual Daydream
  6. Split Screen
  7. Don’t Stop The Bleeding
  8. Nothing To Do
  9. Television
  10. Hesitation Generation
  11. Ease Me On
  12. Seen