Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

M83 share five tracks from new album ‘Fantasy’

The surprise drop arrives ahead of the full album's release on March 17

By Hollie Geraghty

M83 (Photo: Twitter/Press).

M83 have dropped five more tracks from their forthcoming new album Fantasy – listen below.

Last month, the French electronic outfit revealed details of their ninth studio album and shared the first single ‘Oceans Niagara’.

Five more tracks have now been released from the new record – out March 17 via Other Suns – called ‘Water Deep’, ‘Amnesia’, ‘Us And The Rest’, ‘Earth To Sea’ and ‘Radar, Far, Gone’. You can listen to the new songs below and pre-order the album here.

Fantasy is the first new full-length project from M83 since 2019’s DSVII, effectively the solo vehicle of Anthony Gonzalez ever since the departure of founding member Nicolas Fromageau after touring wrapped for their second album, 2003’s Dead Cities, Red Seas & Lost Ghosts.

M83 have also detailed a North American tour for April and May, with a European leg scheduled for June, July and August. Dates have now also been added in Paris at Olympia on June 27 and London’s Roundhouse on June 29. You can check out tour dates and purchase tickets here.

‘Oceans Niagara’ arrived with video from Gonzalez’s brother and long-time collaborator Yann Gonzalez, the director of Knife + Heart and You and the Night.

Discussing the song and the visuals, Anthony Gonzalez said: “Very proud to present the first track of my new album ‘Fantasy’. It’s called Oceans Niagara and it’s the very first collaboration between my brother Yann Gonzalez and myself on a music video.

“I wanted to create this sense of friendship. Listening to that song, I imagine people running, driving fast, or riding spaceships together. It’s this sense of going forward, like a magic potion that you take to discover new worlds. Beyond Adventure!”

He also detailed his thoughts on the creative process behind Fantasy, adding: I wanted this record to be very impactful live.

“The idea was to come back with something closer to the energy of [2005’s] Before The Dawn Heals Us.

“The combination of guitars and synths is always in my music, but it’s maybe more present on this new record than on the previous ones. I wanted to be more present lyrically and vocally even if that was daunting at first. thought if I could achieve that, this album will be more personal than those that came before.”

M83 – Fantasy tracklisting:

  1. ‘Water Deep’
  2. ‘Oceans Niagara’
  3. ‘Amnesia’
  4. ‘Us and the Rest’
  5. ‘Earth to Sea’
  6. ‘Radar, Far, Gone’
  7. ‘Deceiver’
  8. ‘Fantasy’
  9. ‘Laura’
  10. Sunny Boy’
  11. ‘Kool Nuit’
  12. ‘Sunny Boy Part 2’
  13. ‘Dismemberment Bureau’