Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Pixies announce 2023 UK and European tour

Tickets go on sale later this week

By Tom Skinner

Pixies have confirmed the release date for 'Doggerel', their eighth album and first in three years.
Pixies (Picture: Tom Oxley)

Pixies have announced a UK and European headline tour for 2023.

The alt-rock Boston band are due to release their eighth studio album, Doggerel, on September 30 via BMG (pre-order/pre-save here).

Early next year, they’ll hit the road for a run of concerts across Europe and the United Kingdom. Pixies will begin the stint in Stockholm on February 21 before making further stops in Oslo (February 22), Copenhagen (25), Berlin (26) and other cities throughout that month and into March.

The group are scheduled to touch down in the UK on March 17, when they’ll take to the stage at the Forum in Birmingham. Gigs will then follow at the Motorpoint Arena in Cardiff (March 18) and the Roundhouse in north London (20/21).

Tickets go on general sale at 8am BST/ 9am CEST this Friday (September 30) – you’ll be able to purchase yours here. Check out the full UK/European live itinerary in the announcement post below.

Pixies announced the forthcoming Doggerel back in April, and have already shared three singles from the record: ‘Vault of Heaven’, ‘Dregs of the Wine’ and ‘There’s a Moon On’. You can see the full tracklist beneath.

01. ‘Nomatterday’
02. ‘Vault of Heaven’
03. ‘Dregs of the Wine’
04. ‘Haunted House’
05. ‘Get Simulated’
06. ‘The Lord Has Come Back Today’
07. ‘Thunder & Lightning’
08. ‘There’s a Moon On’
09. ‘Pagan Man’
10. ‘Who’s More Sorry Now?’
11. ‘You’re Such a Sadducee’
12. ‘Doggerel’

Describing the album, the follow-up to 2019’s Beneath the Eyrie, frontman Black Francis said: “We’re trying to do things that are very big and bold and orchestrated. The punky stuff, I really like playing it but you just cannot artificially create that shit. There’s another way to do this, there’s other things we can do with this extra special energy that we’re encountering.”

Guitarist Joey Santiago added: “This time around we have grown. We no longer have under two-minute songs. We have little breaks, more conventional arrangements but still our twists in there.”